quad core 2.5GHz or dual core 3.0GHz

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by vergilite, Aug 16, 2009.

Aug 16, 2009
  1. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whats better a intel quad core at 2.5GHz or a dual core at 3.0GHz il only be running games and no other programs will be running while the game is so what do you think?
     


  2. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    well, the quad obviously has more processing power, but you may not actually use all 4 cores. games and applications are moving towards making better use of more cores, however.

    i would go for the quad.
     
  3. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    More info? like FSB etc?
     
  4. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well its either:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115055
    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115036

    the second the dual core is 3.0GHz or so which as i understand is much faster than the quad core at 2.33GHz, i thought that the amount of core was mostly for running more than one application at a time and as i will be running nothing but games on it at one time so for only playing games wouldn't the 3.0GHz help or does the quad core just blow it out the water?

    also can anyone recommend a good cheap U.K store to get these from as newegg does not ship to U.K [​IMG]
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I had the same choice and went for the Dual Core.

    Quad Core isn't still that used in apps, and brute force (more mhzs) will just do more good than 2 more cores.
     
  6. Dimensional

    Member Dimensional GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I would get the quad core.

    I've used this website called "Can You Run It" to determine what games I can play, among other things, and every time it reads all the cored as one, adding then together.

    The 3GHz dual core would read around 6GHz while the 2.5GHz quad core would read around 10GHz. I think that sums it up nicely.
     
  7. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] now i just have to find one cheap over here in the U.K [​IMG]
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Intel's E8xxx should be pretty cheap nowadays. Got a E8400 myself. Rock solid and can be overclocked easily to 3.6GHz with just air cooling [​IMG]
     
  9. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    its true the E8XXX series has A LOT of overclocking potential, heck some people have it running at 4.0GHZ.
     
  10. vinneke23

    Newcomer vinneke23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    holland
    Country:
    United States
    much processing power isnt that great if you have not much cash memory.
    so if the dualcore has one of 2mb and the quadcore has one of 20. than is my answer the quadcore...
     
  11. upbumpo190

    Member upbumpo190 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The 5th dimension
    Country:
    France
    Well actually, this is a hard decision. In the case you provided, I would go for the dual core, since it has 2mb more cache and obviously a faster frequency. (higher cache has proven to drastically improve game performance)
    Games nowadays don't really take advantage of quad core, maybe some of the new ones but I doubt it. If you are aiming for a machine to play next gen games, multi-task, and maybe even virtualization, I'd go quad core. Technically speaking, a dual core coded game will run faster on the dual than on the Quad, because the game is only optimized for two, you're only using two, which means: 3.16GHz (6mb L2 cache) vs 2.33GHz 4MB L2 cache).

    I predict that developers will start to optimize games for quad core systems within the next year, considering that fact that quad and beyond is Intel and AMD's focus right now. Intel is going to release an octo-core processor (8 cores), pretty soon.

    If I were you, I would either get a faster Quad, with more cache, or stick with the dual core.

    Just my 2 cents,

    Christian

    Edit:

    That is completely irrelevant, don't believe everything you see on the internet. You don't add up the frequencies like you did (dual core at 3.0 GHz is NOT 3.0 x2, it will always be 3.0!), anybody in the computer field should know that. More cores is used for multitasking, i.e. an emulator or game, uses one core at 3.0 GHz for graphics rendering, and the other core at 3.0GHz for sound processing. The computer treats them as two seperate processors, and the reason to do this, is to off the load and make it easier and more efficient for the app to process both at the same time, hence the name "multi-tasking".

    The site you referred to is rubbish if they teach people that.

    BTW, the dual core has 6MB of L2 cache, whereas the quad core only has 4MB of L2 cache. The cache is not per-core, but is shared, so more cache, better performance.
    The dual core is ultimately the bets option for you, and these 45nm chips are easy to overclock (anything under 65nm is, i.e. my E1200 à 1.6GHz is now at 3.0 GHZ at 43°C Idle, with an asus fan cooler. You could easily overclock that baby to 3.5 or 4.0 GHz and keep the temp pretty low, and that will just blow the quad core away, it's a no brainer.
     
  12. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    awesome just awesome but so far on ebay they are going for like £120-140 yeah i know what a rip off newegg sells them for $180 is it which is about 100 quid so im gonna have a look around some local shops etc

    oh and can you guys recommend a mother board for about £100 doesn't have to have loads of FSB but enough to cope with the performance needs of newer games I HATE LAG [​IMG]
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    ASUS' P5Qs motherboards are great. I love ASUS products, they just work good, and you should easily find a P5Q for something like 80-90£.
     
  14. upbumpo190

    Member upbumpo190 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The 5th dimension
    Country:
    France
    I second that, ASUS is the best MB maker out there IMHO, but if you want to save a couple of bucks, you could go MSI, as they are pretty good also. (P5K/Q boards are good, P35/45 chipsets are good for overclocking on MSI boards, I've never had any problems.)

    BTW, an Intel P35 express based MSI board (P35 Neo-F) cost me 65 euros, and the price has gone down now. It's a decent board, PCI-E x16, x1, ALC888, Gigabit LAN, 5 SATA-II, 1333 FSB, 45nm support, DDR2 (533-800 MHz).
     
  15. vinneke23

    Newcomer vinneke23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    holland
    Country:
    United States
    thats right 20mb isn't true, I said that because I don't know how many cash memory there is at the moment for cpu's. I said that to compare the cpu's. not that it was actually 20mb's...
     
  16. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yeah sorry, didn't want to be that picky [​IMG]

    Here are the current values for the Core 2 series:
    Low-end Dual Cores (E4xxx): 2MB
    Entry Dual Cores (E6xxx): Some have 2MB, most have 4MB
    Mid level Dual Cores (E7xxx): 3MB
    High level Dual Cores (E8xxx): 6MB

    Old Quad Cores (Q6xxx): 2x4MB
    Entry Level Quad Cores (Q8xxx): 2x2MB
    Mid Level Quad Cores (Q9xxx): 2x3MB
    High Level Quad Cores (Q9450+): 2x6MB

    [​IMG]
     
  17. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok well il see because i might sell my 360 because i will be doing all my gaming on the PC so as i consider the processor my priority i might spend a bit extra and get a quad core with AT LEAST 6mb cache (they are expensive [​IMG])
     
  18. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the gigabyte ud3 series of boards are great
    they are pretty much the best P45 boards, ASUS has slipped down into a slump releasing crummy boards ever since after the 975X series chipset boards
     
  19. strata8

    Member strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Australia
    For everyone saying that 'not many games/apps support quad-core', keep in mind that this CPU will proabably last 2-3 years. But then, I'm sure, more games and applications will completely support quad core CPUs. [​IMG]
     
  20. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    if you have the money, get the guad core. Im satisfied with core2duo.
     

Share This Page