PSP Volume Help.

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ura44, Jan 7, 2013.

Jan 7, 2013

PSP Volume Help. by ura44 at 9:40 PM (1,196 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. I'm new to this site. But, I have nowhere else to ask this.
    I have a PSP 2000 with CFW Pro-C. Everything about it was fine. Then on Jan 1 when I went plug in my headphones and listen to music, the volume was loud. Really loud. Like beyond max loud. I tried turning it down. But when I did, the speaker icon comes gray and the volume doesn't go down.

    I've tried just about everything. Reset the settings, no luck. Changed headphones, no dice. Reformatted memory stick, nothing. Hard reset the setting (triangle, square, select, start), nope.

    I had a temporary solution by putting tissue in the rubber canal of a pair skullcandy headphones and it worked for a while. But the powerful bass eventually won and blew out the right side. Now all I have are a good pair of overheads, but they're now the equivalent of speakers.

    Can anyone help? I'm sorry if this was long or even if it was on the wrong board (again I'm new :cry:) but I would greatly appreciate it if someone would help me or point me in the right direction

    Thank you in advance:bow:
     


  2. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    Holy shit.

    I'm having the exact same problem with my 2000.
     
  3. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Well what was your solution? It was fine at first, but this is starting to kill me.
     
  4. noob killer

    Member noob killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Country:
    United States
    im not to sure but try a different cfw
     
  5. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Not too sure if there other CFWs at 6.60, but I'll look into it......or if I should be trusting the name "noob killer" :mellow:
     
  6. noob killer

    Member noob killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Country:
    United States
    hehe what i meant was if you weren't having the problem before then you could also try formatting/ fresh install and that may fix your problem to format the settings go to system recovery menu [hold r at boot] and im not to sure where in there maybe advanced setting and try to format the flashes 1 or 0
     
  7. noob killer

    Member noob killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Country:
    United States
    and also there are more then 1 cfw's other then 6.60
     
  8. OmegaVesko

    Member OmegaVesko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Well, he doesn't necessarily need to downgrade to switch firmwares. He could switch from PRO to ME, for example (both have 6.60 builds).
     
    noob killer likes this.
  9. noob killer

    Member noob killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Country:
    United States
    thats true but then again my psp broke a while back so im not to sure what these new cfws are about
     
  10. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'm back. I switched from Pro-C to ME-1.8....still the same result.:glare: I even reformatted flash1 and it's still the same. I don't know what hell happened?! It's like it's on perma-AudioBoost mode or something for headphones. From what I've heard, I shouldn't even touch flash0.:mellow: But, I need answers and I'm tired of turning my PSP in a test experiment!
     
  11. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    My friend has this problem too. I'd love to have a solution to this.
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    sometimes plugins cause odd behavior. have you tried clearing out the plugin folder and/or disabling plugins?

    -another world
     
  13. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Disabled the plugins, still nothing. Reformatted flash2 for the hell of it, nothing. Man, this is annoying. Its almost like its a hardware problem or something. Like it's stuck.
     
  14. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is it only with headfones connected?
     
  15. Arras

    Member Arras ★02

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,717
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does he have a 2000 as well? Could be something in the hardware.
     
  16. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. When unplugged, the controls come back. Increase, decrease, muted. They work.
     
  17. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    could be hardware then,
    i dont know the details, but there are sony headfones with remote buttons on them.
    it may think you have them and are holding the V+ button down.
     
  18. Kouen Hasuki

    Member Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388
    Location:
    Gaming Bunker
    Country:
    Norway
    Tried enabling AVLS in options? that should limit the volume some maybe bring it down to a reasonable level
     
  19. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I only had a pair of Skullcandy ink'd headphones when this occurred. I had no remote volume control or mic. But, yeah it might be hardware. I might have to give Sony a call or something. Not willing to give up though.
     
  20. ura44
    OP

    Newcomer ura44 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it. No good. It's BEYOND full blast, even with AVLS. I've been able to use skullcandy 2XL (with tissue in the canal of course) and the sound is perfect even without, ironically.
     

Share This Page