PSP 2000 - Ghosting normal, or CFW / CPU setting issue?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Bonovox40, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Bonovox40
    OP

    Member Bonovox40 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    United States
    As the title says, is ghosting/motion blur a normal trait on a psp 2000? (I'm running 6.60 PRO CFW)

    I have the CPU/memory up to 333/333. Are there some games i'd want it throttled down, or can that help make less blur?

    I notice this on .iso's, not just .cso's. God of War's .ISO have blur, Lego Star Wars .cso have blur. Other titles too.

    For example, Kratos moving in GoW, you can see a reddish ghosting that trails behind him.

    Does using the Inferno driver vs other type matter?

    Thanks for any info!
     
  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,925
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I had that same problem on a early 2000 model once.

    It has to do with the LCD.
    Best thing is to replace the LCD then since ghosting is a hardware problem.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's an issue with the 2K series anyways. And while the 3K doesn't have the ghosting, it does have interlacing...
     
  4. Count Duckula

    Member Count Duckula .

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    561
    Country:
    Australia
    You really cant win completely with PSP displays, 1k and 2k have varying levels of ghosting (most noticable when pixels are transitioning from one end of their range to the other eg a bright colour to black) and 3k has the 'interlacing' artifacts.
    The go's screen does seem to be clearest of all (comparing my 1k and go along with a 2k and 3k belonging to friends), however it is a little smaller.
     
  5. Bonovox40
    OP

    Member Bonovox40 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so it's nothing specifically wrong, just hardware limitations. I can live with that. I was just wondering if there was something I didn't have set right, or worst case that it's a sign of something failing/damaged.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page