Gaming PSP 1000 hacking questions.

JBW

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Im new to psp hacking and as my brother is buying an old psp soon i want to help him hack it so it will play isos and homebrew. i have a couple of n00bish questions first though.

Which custom firmware is best?
How can i hack a psp 1000 and will i need to buy anything like a new special battery? (ive searched aroun for the answer to this and have found nothing that doesn't involve buying something)
What size memory stick do you recommend and where can i find it cheapest?

if anyone can answer any of these questions it will be much a appreciated.

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Trophies
XP
Country
1. At the moment, the GEN CFW team are the best. Until the M33 team update their firmware, it will stay that way.
2. PSP-1000 hacking can be done with a Pandora battery, which can be bought from www.dealextreme.com very cheaply.
3. If you're going to put games and the like on it, but a PhotoFast MS Pro Duo. That can also be bought from the aforementioned website. It allows you to use microSD's instead of Sony's own Memory Stick's, which are very expensive.

tonkotsu

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Let me piggy-back on this thread.

I just got a PSP 1000 from my brother. I read the tutorial by Legion and have some questions.

1) The PSP is on firmware 5.02. Is it still hackable or it has to be a lower firmware?

2) The tutorial says I need FW v1.5, 3.4 and 3.8. Do I need to install those even though I'm at on v5.02?

3) For the firmware updates, do I have to install each version after 3.8 (e.g. 4.00, 4.01, 4.05) or I can jump straight to 5.02?

I'm new to this. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

PhillipDS

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Colombia
Hallo~ !!