Hardware Ps4 Slim Error ce-30391-6

antonio010

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
767
Country
United States
A local pawn shop was going out of business and was liquidating their inventory. I ended up buying a bunch of consoles for a pretty good price. One of the consoles was a PS4 slim that has this error on it. The system wasn't modified in any way and the tamper sticker wasn't removed. However, every time I try to play a game or access PSN, I get this error message. I've done some searching online, however, there isn't any real info on fixing this problem.

I've already done the following:

Initialize ps4 in safe mode
Updated to latest fw version
Swapped internal HD with a new 1tb
Rebuild cache
Replaced CR2032 battery in mobo

None of this has fixed this problem. Has anyone else encountered this error and resolved it successfully?

Thanks,
 
Last edited by antonio010,
  • Like
Reactions: Amrun522

Bowl0l

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
185
Trophies
0
XP
552
Country
Malaysia
Have you tried:
disconnecting the PS4 from the network
power off the PS4 for 1 hour
power on the PS4
check the system clock
insert a PS4 disk that was not installed before
install game
 
  • Like
Reactions: Amrun522

testerfan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
www.fixxmaster.com
XP
1,394
Country
United States
I'm wondering if the Southbridge IC on your motherboard is CXD90042GG? (it's the chip in the picture below)
ps4-slim-sbric.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Amrun522

testerfan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
www.fixxmaster.com
XP
1,394
Country
United States
I don't think so, but every time I had PS4 Slim with a failed CXD90042GG revision chip (that wasn't turning on, and I had to replace it), afterwards I was greeted with the same error, so it's interesting that you've having it on a virgin system, and i'm starting to wonder if this error only occurs on PS4 Slim systems with this particular revision of the board, because most Slim boards use CXD90036G chip (like the previous PS4 model, which was CUH-1215A), and I've never encountered this error on those models, though they are very similar in board architecture.
So, if you can check which model of this chip you have - that would be very helpful to know
 

antonio010

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
767
Country
United States
I don't think so, but every time I had PS4 Slim with a failed CXD90042GG revision chip (that wasn't turning on, and I had to replace it), afterwards I was greeted with the same error, so it's interesting that you've having it on a virgin system, and i'm starting to wonder if this error only occurs on PS4 Slim systems with this particular revision of the board, because most Slim boards use CXD90036G chip (like the previous PS4 model, which was CUH-1215A), and I've never encountered this error on those models, though they are very similar in board architecture.
So, if you can check which model of this chip you have - that would be very helpful to know

It looks like I do indeed have that same chip. Attached a photo as well. What did you end up doing to fix that error?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hmm, maybe something corrupt.

Date and time says 1970 or whatever?

https://www.psdevwiki.com/ps4/Flash-Main#FW.2FBIOS_versioning_and_incremental_counting_Observation

Perhaps contact BWE over at hax for info on nor fixing?

Although the time and date did not say 1970, it wasn't saving the time after power cycling. After I replaced the cr2032 battery on the mobo the time and date are saving correctly.
 

Attachments

  • NAMwm2Dp.jpeg
    NAMwm2Dp.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 2,197
  • Like
Reactions: KiiWii

testerfan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
www.fixxmaster.com
XP
1,394
Country
United States
I've ended up replacing the crystal (on the left side of the chip), and the black rectangular component on the right, and it worked fine after that (obviously you need to have a spare board to fix this)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SCORPlON

antonio010

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
767
Country
United States
I've ended up replacing the crystal (on the left side of the chip), and the black rectangular component on the right, and it worked fine after that (obviously you need to have a spare board to fix this)

Thanks for the reply. Was it these 2 components? I don't have a spare board but I wonder if we can identify the components, I can order them from digikey or a similar chip merchant? Otherwise I can pick up a dead board on ebay I suppose.
 

Attachments

  • Inked20190819_163629_LI.jpg
    Inked20190819_163629_LI.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 2,043

testerfan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
www.fixxmaster.com
XP
1,394
Country
United States
yes, those are the right components, but I wasn't able to identify them, and it might be quite hard to find a dead board on ebay, because you need it to have the right Southbridge IC (and those are not that common), plus broken boards are not that cheap. If you can't find the replacements, let me know if you want to send the system in for repair to get it fixed
 

antonio010

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
767
Country
United States
I was able to source a matching board. Once it arrives I'll attempt the repair. If for some reason I can't, I'll reach out for sure. Thanks.
 

antonio010

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
767
Country
United States
Yes, I have a Hakko station. I've already removed the components and sent them out to my sales rep at digikey for identification. Haven't been able to properly identify them myself there or at mouser. If I do get them identified, I'll update the thread.
 

SCORPlON

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
12
Country
United States
I've ended up replacing the crystal (on the left side of the chip), and the black rectangular component on the right, and it worked fine after that (obviously you need to have a spare board to fix this)
any picture of those components would be quite helpful to identify them on spare board.
 

MicroRepairRX

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
19
Country
United States
Hello, I'm having a similar issue. This is with a 2015B PS4 slim with a motherboard SAD. The southbridge ic is is CXD90036G, not the 42GG. The history of the console is the controller was not syncing on the main screen, so I replaced the wifi/bluetooth chip and was able to reinstall fw 6.72. (not updating to latest fw b/c of recent news)

I've replaced the two crystals. The long once is a "tuning fork" and the other one I'm not sure (it has 2 pads underneath).

This however, did NOT fix the CE-30391-6 issue for me. I've looked around the board for other issue, but cannot find any. The wifi/bluetooth chip works fine. I'm able to connect to the home inernet.

What else should I try? I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks!
 

Snowlax

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
228
Country
Slovakia
Hello, I'm having the same problem. My console is CUH-1004A ps4 fat. Southbridge is CXD90025G. System Software 6.72
tried:
Replaced CR2032 battery
Rebuild database
Initialize ps4

after ps4 turns off and I unplug the cord, time will set to 1:00 and date to the year 1970.
I also tried recent 6.72 JB+ MiraHen and on some apps/games it freezes the screen and I have to reboot it. On others it takes longer time to display the error code and it just logged outs me.
I think the problem has to be that Mainboard doesn't receive 3V from the battery.
Does someone have a schematic of PS4 trace lines ? or know where those 3V from the battery go ?
I will be very thankful for any suggestions.
 
Last edited by Snowlax,
  • Like
Reactions: chronoss

chronoss

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
2,662
Trophies
1
XP
3,101
Country
Congo, Republic of the
Hello, I'm having the same problem. My console is CUH-1004A ps4 fat. Southbridge is CXD90025G. System Software 6.72
tried:
Replaced CR2032 battery
Rebuild database
Initialize ps4

after ps4 turns off and I unplug the cord, time will set to 1:00 and date to the year 1970.
I also tried recent 6.72 JB+ MiraHen and on some apps/games it freezes the screen and I have to reboot it. On others it takes longer time to display the error code and it just logged outs me.
I think the problem has to be that Mainboard doesn't receive 3V from the battery.
Does someone have a schematic of PS4 trace lines ? or know where those 3V from the battery go ?
I will be very thankful for any suggestions.
Same problem with me :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: Snowlax
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: Amazon Basics TV