Hacking PS4 Extended Storage connection to PC

watchman2020

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Malaysia
newbie here who just got myself a used PS4 on firmware 7.02. Been tinkering around with it using information found here and elsewhere and installed some games using FPKGs. The latest thing I have done is to format 4TB HDD as PS4 extended storage and moved some of the installed games over successfully. But, when I connect the extended storage HDD back to PC, it couldn;t be detected and I need to go to Windows Disc Management to initialise it as GPT. After initialisation, I decided to test the HDD by connecting back to PS4 and it said USB storage device not detected and format not supported.

Am I not allowed to connect the PS4-formatted extended storage ? Since I did, and also went ahead and initialise it on PC, it is now basically corrupted with all the content gone and I have reformat it on PS4 if I want to continue using it as extended storage for PS4? Is there a way to rectify thIS or am I correct to say I am basically fucked now?

Reactions: HollowGrams

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
you can't connect the drive to a pc and expect it to work. now that you've initialized it, it may be possible to clone the drive then inject the first sector of a working extended storage drive to that drive, but I'm not really sure if that will work. I know you can do this with the wii u and ps3 when it comes to having initialized the drive. your only other alternative is to format the drive.

Reactions: HollowGrams

HollowGrams

Trophies
XP
Country
United States