PS3 Flickering/10second Black Screen problem

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by sa1amandra, Nov 30, 2009.

Nov 30, 2009
  1. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    I opened my PS3 today, and i've been having the issue with my HDMI, it seems that on random invervals that the TV will become black for a few seconds (game is not frozen, meaning it still runs) with no audio, and then goes back to normal. it's very annoying and yes it does affect my gameplay :\.

    Any solutions that doesn't involve sending it in?
     
  2. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    TV--HDCP--PS3

    somewhere between those steps HDCP fails to clear and you get the blanks screen. IIRC it typically happens with older gen HDTVs.

    Long as it happens during XMB--> game boot up, I wouldn't worry to much about it.

    Edit: or you got a busted HDMI cable.
     
  3. Mucuna

    Member Mucuna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yeah, that sometimes happens with my TV (LG), and yes, it's very annoying.

    I didn't find any definitive solution for that, but I noticed that, at least in my case, that's something that don't occur always. When you notice that it is blinking a lot, try to change the input (to an AV input, for example), wait a few seconds and chance the input to HDMI again. That usually "fix" it, booting the handshake, I don't know.

    If not, try to setup the display again in the media bar.

    Sometimes I quit a game and get a black screen, than I notice, when I touch the controller, that the system is there (I hear the "click" sound from the menu). The above "solution" can deal with it too.
     
  4. ShinraArmy

    Member ShinraArmy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    That happened with my hdmi cable

    try someone else's cable, or just go and buy another one if you're sure that's the issue
     

Share This Page