Hacking PS3 CFW and online

8BitWalugi

Taiyohhhhhh!
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,458
Trophies
1
Location
Side 7
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,568
Country
Australia
Now, I'm certain going online on CFW is a bad idea, I'm just wondering what my options are.

What choices do I have when it comes to installing PS3 CFW and my PSN account? I'm assuming there's no way I can keep all my purchases AND install CFW. So what can I do to keep my PSN account safe? I figured I could format my console, but how do I back up all my save files and content first?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: Meriadoc

x0x0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2017
Messages
300
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Inside the code
XP
1,101
Country
Poland
Never use your main psn account on CFW, deactivate your psn account on PS3. Restore PS3 then install CFW. Your account should be fine. About saves let someone say.
 

Meriadoc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 14, 2016
Messages
137
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
253
Country
Italy
Follow because i'm in the same situation. Maybe dual boot is the solution, please let me know how do you solve this problem
 

Porthos

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
70
XP
213
Country
Uruguay
Hi turning this around, I have no desire to ever login into PSN/play online and have disabled auto sign-in for my account, turned off remember password, changed NP environment on debug to invalid and only plug into the LAN to FTP in to the PS3. Although I know there is always an element of risk, is it so minimal that I shouldn't worry about it now?
 

8BitWalugi

Taiyohhhhhh!
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,458
Trophies
1
Location
Side 7
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,568
Country
Australia
Alright, so no online. Got it.

Next question is how do I back up my save files and content to then later use after installing CFW. I was planning on backing up, formatting, then copying the files I need back on one by one.
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,073
Trophies
2
XP
4,719
Country
Japan
Another vote for 'don't do it'. My old Phat PS3 got banned, and one of my 3 accounts got banned. No idea why just the one did.

There are precautions you can take, but you're playing with fire if you have lots of PSN purchases you risk losing. PSN ain't going anywhere near my new CFW Slim.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CallmeBerto

Lumince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,343
Trophies
1
XP
3,717
Country
United States
Its actually quite easy to avoid getting banned... Since I bought most of my games, I would just use reactpsn to install the games I owned and just used a different psn account on cfw. The best solution for the saves would be to just back them all up and then resign all of them to your new account. Youd just need one game save from the new account to get the id to resign them all. And the games, again I would suggest reactpsn. Yes, it can be used to pirate games, but as long as you just use your rifs (I dont know if they are called those since I havent touched my ps3 in so long) you should be fine. I made a separate profile that didnt have an account logged into it and installed reactpsn ontop of that so that I wouldnt get banned on the account I was using.

PSN Patch and PSNinja are your friends as well :) just never sign in with syscalls active and dont sign in with homebrew running :D
Been using the same PSN account on my CFW ps3 since day one and have not been banend :D that was like 8 years ago that I made it too
 
Last edited by Lumince,
  • Like
Reactions: KeoniAzugon

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    the top screen is black bc one of the hinges is broken
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    hmm nasty
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    im sorry for that..i never had 3ds though but i wouldnt have minded having one...*sigh*
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    my brother broke it
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and my dsi stopped working after the sd card stopped working
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @TheMines Wonder requires Firmware 17.0, so no, you must update your FW to play it.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    by tapping it?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    what is dsi again?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nintendo dsi
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and I wasn't there when he broke my 3ds but I guess he broke it because he was playing too rough with it or maybe he let it fell like the careless son of a bitch that he is.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    i heard only about nintendo ds not dsi
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    the nintendo dsi is a revision of the nintendo ds
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    ah its that upgraded model, gotcha
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Never knew that that thanks for letting us know
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    did you ever play metroid prime hunters on it? that was a good game imo
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea i liked it despite thinking it was bad before playing it
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    cuz a youtube video told me its bad (I was younger then and a little easier to manipulate)
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    why did you think it was bad?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    ah
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    slow stupid chat
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    lemme look for the video (its in spanish btw)
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    dont bother
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I know there were people not liking it
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    i dont need to see some idiot lol
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6_IyiWHfdY around minute 6:46