PS2 Slim - Modchip Diagnosis (PS1 games)

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by aphirst, Jun 3, 2012.

Jun 3, 2012
  1. aphirst
    OP

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I've been tinkering with a PS2 I just bought from a guy at Uni. It has a modchip in (a Matr!x Infinity clone, one of the v1.99 ones), and he says it does play both copied PS1 and PS2 games.

    I've set it up, and I can only get it to play copied PS2 games. Mostly. Every so often it spins up weirdly and fails to recognise the disc. But for copied PS1 games, it won't play any of them.

    My guesses for what the problem is would be are:
    >the drive motor's packing in
    >the laser's packing in
    >the modchip has partially disconnected
    >the discs I'm using to burn with suck balls

    What do you guys think? Is there anything else I've not considered?

    Given it's 2012, would it be safe to say that any small online repair centre that still dealt with PS2s would be OK with handling one with a modchip in? Might they even be able to check if it's connected up properly?
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried a cd based ps2 game? Could just be the laser has seen better days and has trouble reading cds.

    Could also try forcing ps1 mode by holding circle, it's possible the chip is not detecting and resetting to ps1 mode properly.

    Other than that, if it's not the laser or discs, then the SX point or (equivalent as I'm not sure what's it's labelled as on the clones) may not be connected as that is responsible for ps1 games.
     
  3. jinnpan

    Member jinnpan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    power on system
    insert disc
    close lid/tray
    press reset twice
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    That's the thing for most modchips.
    You need to press reset (or the power button) twice (not too fast, not too slow) to put the modchip in PS1 mode.

    Some modchips allows you to do it from a switched off state too, if you already have the PS1 game inserted.
     
  5. jinnpan

    Member jinnpan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the SX point was not solder.
    For some reason some modder do not solder the SX point to enable PSone support.
     

Share This Page