PS2 Computer

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by JinTrigger, Mar 20, 2011.

Mar 20, 2011

PS2 Computer by JinTrigger at 4:38 AM (1,766 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if there was a way to combine a ps2 with a normal desktop so it can play ps2 game without emulation....Like a PS2 Windows Computer
     


  2. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    It would require proprietary drivers and software, which would take a lot of reverse-engineering and code... so I'll just go ahead and say no.
     
  3. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Both of you are incorrect.

    You can run full desktop Linux on the PS2 in both commercial and open source flavors (either the official Linux for PS2 disc, or the community developed kernelloader with a method to boot it such as freemcboot or a modchip). In addition you want to have the network adapter, for obvious reasons.

    Drivers are available and all the hardware is supported.
     
  5. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, but he doesn't want to run his PS2 AS a desktop computer, he wants to run it WITH a desktop computer, so they're essentially one machine (I'm assuming so the PS2 can process the game and run the data while the computer displays it...?)
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    They actually have something like this for the 360... but it's just a PC with a 360 slapped on it. You can't use the keyboard/mouse unless it's plugged into the 360.

    They have different hardware, you could try running Linux on the PS2... but I wouldn't recommend it as a desktop replacement.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't make any sense.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which is why the answer was no.

    However I think a capture card might suit him fine? I'm not sure which models would be good though.
     
  9. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Precisely. The OP doesn't make sense in his post, and as a result what he said is not possible.
     
  10. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    The answer definitely wasn't no, since as I described you can functionally combine the two platforms.

    You can of course interpret his question in a stupid way, depending on what his goals are there is a very real solution available.

    tl;dr if you have no useful information to post, stop posting.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    My post contained more than you quoted, and addressed his problem. :\ A capture card would allow him to play his PS2 games and have them display in a window on his screen.
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    there about a 3-5 sec delay, so you would still have to split and go directly to the screen anyway
     
  13. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    nope ud have to use pcsx2 emulator
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I've read about cards that have a "game mode" or whatever that doesn't do any additional processing, so the latency is cut down to very manageable amounts, but as said I don't know which is which.
     
  15. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the responses guys but to clarify i was pondering on the fact if it was possible to literally combine a desktop computer and a ps2 into one super PS2 desktop computer (Just a computer with an intergrated ps2......kinda like what they did with the DVR ]
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's not the same type of thing as combining a normal existing home desktop with a PS2.
     
  17. matt1freek

    Member matt1freek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    tampa,fl
    Country:
    United States
    Just hook your ps2 up to your monitor with a VGA box [​IMG]
     
  18. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    i very much doubt that would actually work, though you could use your PS2 as a standalone computer with a special kit that let it run a special version of red hat linux. these kits are pretty rare, though.
     
  19. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I tried it and it didn't work because the ps2's horizontal frequency is too low for my monitor.
     
  20. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page