Hacking problems with WoodYS on itouch2 (does not have a DLDI section)

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
hello,

after a few weeks of use, the firmware , WoodYS 6.73 did show up the following message when starting a game :

Does not have a DLDI section
Fat_FreeFiles
ARM7wait: Copy EWRAM to AMR7InternalMemory
. and Reset Memory.
REBOOT
resetMemory1_ARM9
resetMemory2load ARM 9 NoBios


the way i start te firmware is with the WOOD.nds file which I start in the original firmware.
the main firmware on my itouch2 is 3.9a
memory card is a kingstond microsd 4gb class 4
memory space free is 153 mb.


I have reformatted my Memory card already and put the same files back and the problem still occurs after that. I tried several games with no result, but Homebrew like
lameboy and lmp-ng ( an ipod mp3-player lookalike homebrew) seem to work fine.
in the first weeks of using the firmware i had no problems with it, only when i moved some files on the memory card, moonshell and some anime in .dpg files, the problems began to occur. I don't know if there is a relation between these things, because after deleting all these files that I moved onto my memory card, the problem still occurs.
so does anyone know how to solve this? could it be that I somehow have to reset manually my memory or something? ( sorry if it sounds stupid)

*edit*
i have found something on the internet, that says if that this message is shown that it simply doesn't have DLDI support, but nds games aren't supposed to be have DLDI support right? that was only for homebrew i thought. so i think that he sees al my files as homebrew and try to do something with DLDI when i start a game or homebrew, and that's why only homebrew work I think, but still no solution for this problem.
games still loads somehow when i start YSMenu.nds(had put on my microsd later). it simply starts the game immediately when i start ysmenu.nds. it seems that it's always the last file i opened with the woodys firmware. but this time it works, so there is a solution, but not the most time-saving one.


thanks for help :)
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
I remember, to avoid DLDI confusion (iTouch uses iTDS and R4iRTS uses R4_I, not M3DS), ysm3.nds's dldi region is locked. I suppose it is completely safe to launch the game from ysm3.

[edit] Do you mean you don't see YSM3 at all and "ini linker" freezes in rebooting?
There is a boot chain: WoodYS(aka WAIO) -> rpglink(white char on black screen) -> inilink(white char on yellow screen) -> YSM3 (black screen with black-metallic progress bar) -> game
 

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
thanks for you reply,

WOODys starts boots up normal. when i start a game, not homebrew, its says a lot of stuff, something of initializing dldi etc. and at the end this message appears. when i start with YSmenu the last opened rom with wood starts. this is a glitch that is already fixed. this was a known issue. i tried the new version of 6.74, but it didn't help.
it struck me as strange that it said reboot and stopped working.

i have tried another microsd , kingston class 4 , 8gb, with 2 gb free space. just copied the same woodys firmware that was on my other micro sd onto this one and it worked
as it should.
i have tried also ysmenu from woodys 6.74 which booted normally on the 4 gb micro sd. so i think i can say that the problem idd occurs in that cycle.

YSM3.nds works fine i think. the screen where the message occured was dark-blue/black with white letters, dont know which one in the boot chain it was,
the load bar of ysmenu dont appear.
in the log that is visible on the screen it says arm7 copyfrom and copyto then that arm7 is loaded,
then again 3 lines of information that says copyfrom and copyto and then that arm9 is loaded.
then :
Dynamically linked disk interface patch to oL v1.24 by Michaell Chisholm (chism)

then something about based on revision 1.4 (which doesn't look suspicious to me so i don't mention it here)

based on the information you gave i would say the problem is with RPGlink.

i would like to add that the wood firmware had worked as it should so it is something that started after some time.

*edit*
(after seeing your account description i think you actually are the right person to help me :P)
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
whoa, no WAIO component shows
"Dynamically linked disk interface patch to oL v1.24 by Michaell Chisholm (chism)"

maybe you can put loader.nds and inilink.nds from old WoodYS?
Also I'll check how current WoodYS is messed up...

[edit]
Your NDS freezes in "Upper black screen says WoodRPG Extlink Wrapper" and "Lower screen with yellow Loading"?
Then it should be RPGLink.


well... it seems your screen isn't RPGLink but moonshell's _hn.hugendsloader.nds.
I'll tell you what you need to do nextly.
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
Final solution:
just add /moonshl2/extlink/mshl2wrap.ini entry to allow
Code:
iTDS=/TTMenu/inilink.nds

reported: http://gbatemp.net/topic/268715-alternative-firmwares-for-m3/page__view__findpost__p__4191515
 

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
thanks for you reply,

woodys start up normal.
You pervert.

hmmm, I am not that confident in my english so.... what is the perverted thing you mention?
or in dutch : waar zat je eigelijk aan te denken toen ik dat zei? en alleen perverse mensen zouden dat zo zien :)

anyway,
after doing like you said i got another problem...
it says at the end :
Cannot open /MOONSHL2/EXTLINK/_hn.HugeNDSLoader.nds.
Accept your fate.
press A to shutdown.

i did change the entry from
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = 1M3DS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
to
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = 1iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
1iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
all of them showed the message.

*edit*

problem solved :

the problem was the loader.eng file. which wasn't a specific file from the WOODys (secondary )firmware, but from my primairy firmware .
I used a the normal WOODys 6.74 firmware and the normal ItouchDS 3.9a firmware from filetrip. I don't what exactly the problem was, but it is solved now :P
maybe the file was already corrupt in my backup, that's probably the reason it didn't worked.

can finally continue playing 9 hours 9 persons 9 doors :yaynds:

i was thinking, why is moonshell needed to boot when using the firmware? moonshell is used to play music and/or movies. I don't remember it could play games.
anyway problem solved.
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = 1M3DS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
to
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
[mshl2wrap]hbmode = 1iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
and
1iTDS = /TTMenu/inilink.nds
bah inilink.ini linebreak is LF? Use notepad++ stuff to edit... not windows notepad. Or you can edit using MoonShell2...


i was thinking, why is moonshell needed to boot when using the firmware? moonshell is used to play music and/or movies. I don't remember it could play games.
anyway problem solved.
MoonShell 2.06 can boot games if you have nds.*.nds in extlink folder...
 

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
ok, but I won't make other edits now in my firmware because it is now working fine. the problem was with my primairy firmware loader. though I could play games with my primairy firmware, I couldn't with the secondary firmware which was booted from my primairy. I don't know what the real problem was, but it had nothing to do with moonshell after all. I used the orginal mshl2wrap.ini.

anyway, it is good to hear that there was another problem found and can be solved.
my file editing skills aren't that great ( almost zero ) and I still don't know what you mean with :

bah inilink.ini linebreak is LF? Use notepad++ stuff to edit... not windows notepad. Or you can edit using MoonShell2...
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
my file editing skills aren't that great ( almost zero ) and I still don't know what you mean with :

bah inilink.ini linebreak is LF? Use notepad++ stuff to edit... not windows notepad. Or you can edit using MoonShell2...
then you can JUST replace /iTouch/iTouch.dldi with that from M3 (dldi_ds.m3)
 

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
my file editing skills aren't that great ( almost zero ) and I still don't know what you mean with :

bah inilink.ini linebreak is LF? Use notepad++ stuff to edit... not windows notepad. Or you can edit using MoonShell2...
then you can JUST replace /iTouch/iTouch.dldi with that from M3 (dldi_ds.m3)

that was not needed to make it work, it works fine without any other steps except replace the loader.eng file with a non-corrupt one.

but for other users who have the same problem the solution you mentioned could be the one they need.
 

avenir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
375
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
that was not needed to make it work, it works fine without any other steps except replace the loader.eng file with a non-corrupt one.

but for other users who have the same problem the solution you mentioned could be the one they need.
Well, interesting. Do you mean /iTouch/loader.eng? You got it from "Official iTouch 3.9a" from filetrip?
 

DaemVorster

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
2
that was not needed to make it work, it works fine without any other steps except replace the loader.eng file with a non-corrupt one.

but for other users who have the same problem the solution you mentioned could be the one they need.
Well, interesting. Do you mean /iTouch/loader.eng? You got it from "Official iTouch 3.9a" from filetrip?

no, the loader that was outside the folder, the one you put in the root of your card. maybe there was something wrong with the auto dldi patching.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The wolf tried eating her but failed
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    God help us all
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    *little red riding hood grabs the shotgun*
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well shit my ring camera needs charged I wonder what was stolen from me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Just opened 10 youtube tabs on my phone in chrome. Not even half of half of 600MB. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
    K3N1 @ K3N1: