Problems with sky3ds saves

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by XeroZero18, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    I have this peculiar problem that i cant seem to find an answer to even after searching everywhere.

    I have been playing my games on the sky3ds on my 3DS XL for a long time now. i have bought a new N3DS XL just recently. While the sky3ds works on the N3ds XL, the saves are corrupted only on the N3DS XL. when i place the card back in my original 3ds XL, it reads the saves fine.

    I don't think this is a problem i can fix, but i have genuinely no idea why this happens. Any ideas why? it would be nice to play on both 3ds rather then be limited to one.
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,800
    5,683
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    That's the first time I've heard of this. It sounds a lot like the issues people were having when updating a 4.x console with Gateway on it to 9.x, or moving between two different consoles with different sysNAND versions, all saves for 6.x+ games would be "corrupted" because of the new save encryption key added in 6.x+.
    I doubt your problem is related though. I assume both consoles are on stock OFW?
     
  3. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    Actually, I forgot to add that the N3DS XL I bought was already modded with a9lh by the previous owner. I didn't plan to use the mod so forgot to take that into account. I am guessing that could be the reason? The 3DS XL is not modded.
     
  4. Mr.Faq2015

    Mr.Faq2015 /ˈmɪstə ˈfæk/

    Member
    208
    34
    Oct 24, 2015
    Argentina
    Rhizome 9
    Did you try tampering the problematic savefiles with jksm on the n3ds (export them and reimport them, maybe that works?), as well as restarting the card?

    Sent from my 1DS with A9LH using Discord Nitro
     
  5. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    Yea I tried exporting and importing. No luck. It's still corrupted.
     
  6. Mr.Faq2015

    Mr.Faq2015 /ˈmɪstə ˈfæk/

    Member
    208
    34
    Oct 24, 2015
    Argentina
    Rhizome 9
    try exporting them with svdt or exporting them and reimporting them into their respective digital versions. If booting the digital game throws the corrupted error, try reimporting them again with jksm (extract from the digital game and reimport it again)

    Sent from my 1DS with A9LH using Discord Nitro
     
    Last edited by Mr.Faq2015, Apr 4, 2017
  7. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    I have tried installing the cia version of the game and exporting and importing, along with reimporting. still no luck. :(
     
  8. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    I have a theory that it could be due to the updates of the game being different. I updated my games with the e shop in 3DS Xl while N3DSXL was updated with freeshop. Maybe thats causing the corruption?
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,800
    5,683
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    As long as the games are up to date on both, it shouldn't matter.
     
  10. XeroZero18
    OP

    XeroZero18 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 4, 2017
    Senegal
    I fixed my problem, seems like i needed to change the region to USA with locales and also enable patching in luma3ds.

    Thanks for the help though!
     
  11. Mr.Faq2015

    Mr.Faq2015 /ˈmɪstə ˈfæk/

    Member
    208
    34
    Oct 24, 2015
    Argentina
    Rhizome 9
    cool, glad to know you got it solved

    Sent from my 1DS with A9LH using Discord Nitro