Problems Using SD Card to Backup VC/WiiWare Games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by StacMaster-S, Jun 28, 2008.

1. StacMaster-S
    OP

Member StacMaster-S GBAtemp Fan

United States
    Hey guys! I'm still learning the ropes on Wii Homebrew... and I've been reading quite a bit of info on it, but here's something I can't figure out (and as far as I can tell it hasn't been posted yet).

I've got a pretty good grasp on installing/uninstalling WADs... and I was playing around with managing my space. Now we're supposed to be using our SD cards to back up channels when we're running low on system memory... however I noticed today that some of the VC/WiiWare titles I had copied to the SD card could not be copied back to the Wii system memory. It would look like it's copying fine, but instead of the usual "The file was copied." message it would say "The file was not copied." and not really give any explanation.

I decided to uninstall all the new WADs I'd been messing with, and just test a few smaller ones to see how consistent the problem was starting from scratch... here's what I found out...

Dr. Mario Online Rx
    (copies to SD, does not copy back)

Kid Icarus
    (copies to SD, copies back)

Super Castlevania IV
    (copies to SD, copies back)

Sonic the Hedgehog
    (copies to SD, does not copy back)

Some other games I remember not copying back before this test were:
    Pop, Defend Your Castle, FFCC:MLaaK (all WiiWare titles) and NES Open Tournament Golf
    However others I've tried worked fine...

So anyway, I'm not sure I understand what the issue is with some titles and not others... it seems really inconsistent which titles are having issues, and I don't understand why files wouldn't copy in the first place when I have plenty of blocks opened up. I thought maybe it could be a region thing... but I'm pretty sure every file I've gotten has been U.S. NTSC so far.

So yeah, any ideas? Something obvious I'm missing?
    Thanks for the help!

Edit: