Problem with VC

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by celticone, May 22, 2008.

May 22, 2008

Problem with VC by celticone at 11:35 PM (1,228 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. celticone
    OP

    Newcomer celticone Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I'm having problems getting the wads to play, I've done the twilight hack and can install the wads (they appear as channels) however when I try to start the wad the screen goes blank and I have to turn off the Wii. I have the same problem when installing the homebrew channel and similiar (plus Snes emulator), I start them and the screen goes blank.

    I've managed to get two wads working, Zelda II and Pinball, however all other wads (20 plus now) have failed to work (and i've tried downloading the same wad from different sources).

    Any ideas what's up? My Wii's firmware has never been updated if that matters?? (i.e. i've never connected to the web).

    Thanks for any advice
     
  2. Volsfan91

    Member Volsfan91 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    United States
    Don't quite understand here; I notice that you're from the UK... just wondering, if you have a PAL Wii are you sure that all of your channels were PAL friendly?
     
  3. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you need to have a fairly recent firmware to play VC games.
     
  4. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need 3.1v2 IIRC.

    (It comes with Mario Kart Wii if you want to buy/download it)
     
  5. celticone
    OP

    Newcomer celticone Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah all are PAL wads
     
  6. celticone
    OP

    Newcomer celticone Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I had asked that question before and was told that the firmware didnt matter. I'll go out and buy Mario Kart.

    Cheers, great website
     
  7. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Do you not have internet access or are you just paranoid?

    Buying a game for the firmware alone is rediculous.
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He might have dialup/no network.
    MKWii is worth buying anyway [​IMG]
     
  9. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Without an internet connection? No way.

    It's less challenging than Double Dash and as equally boring.
     
  10. celticone
    OP

    Newcomer celticone Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have cable and will not go wireless, I was thinking of buying the Ethernet connector but am unsure.
     

Share This Page