Problem with R4i Gold 3ds

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Xaus, May 17, 2011.

May 17, 2011

Problem with R4i Gold 3ds by Xaus at 7:46 PM (3,899 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Xaus
    OP

    Newcomer Xaus Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi!!

    I've finally received my R4i Gold for 3ds but i'm stuck with the setup..

    Before this card (and the 3ds) I had a ds lite and an original r4 that worked fine with wood ever...

    but with the coming of the 3ds i had to change it obviosly and I wanted compatible with wood (never change a winning team..) but here comes the problem..

    i've download both the original firmware and the wood, i've copied first wood and after (when i see that didn't work) the original fw..

    in both case the 3ds menu see the cart as finding nemo (and this is the only difference between my flashcardard and the one shown in the video of the site) but when i load it the screen remain white apart a tf shape with a "?" and the word menu on the above screen...

    Do you think that it can be a clone?

    I post you some images...

    the package...
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    the card (hope you can read the website)...
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    and the white screens with the tf shape..
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Hope you can help me.... thanks!
     
  2. kineticUk

    Member kineticUk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The card looks a bit suspect imo (doesn't look as nice as it should, maybe thats the photo though hard to tell) although the packaging seems to be the same.

    That ? on the top screen is strange because I'm sure its cyclo/DSTT? clones (Cannot remember which exactly but a lot of clones display that if there is a problem) that show that if no firmware is found or there is a problem at startup... I didn't think the r4igold ever showed that.

    And I have never heard of it using finding nemo icon... it seems fishy.

    I would see what others have to say about it but I think its fake.
     
  3. theADDict

    Member theADDict GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The ? Menu icon usually means that copying the kernel hasn't gone to plan. Format the card and unpack the kernel from www.r4ids.cn and copy the folders one by one and then all the files one by one. That should then work.
     
  5. Valwin

    Banned Valwin The Neautral Gamer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,084
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    United States
    that card wont work on 3ds is a old card for dsi and ds lite
     
  6. theADDict

    Member theADDict GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mmmmmm, depends on the seller. The box has the 3DS sticker, which suppliers send and you stick on yourself, but this could be -
    - flashed ready for 3DS, but don't think it should be nemo ?!
    - another cart wrongly wearing an R4i Gold sticker.

    Maybe supply a picture of the cart contacts, colour of board.
    or test on a DS lite with original firmware.
     
  7. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wood does not work on clones.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The boxes had a sticker placed onto them before the 3DS logo was printed on the box (I've got a sticker kind and AW has a printed kind), so the packaging does appear correct... but Finding Nemo isn't a game I'm familiar with these using. As for the TF card, I've noticed that the R4i Gold won't even register itself to a 1.4.2 DSi without a proper TF card in it, so....

    I suggest you get the latest firmware update and apply it via a DS/Lite if possible.
    http://filetrip.net/f25056-R4iDS-CN-Firmwa...date-1-4-2.html
     
  9. Xaus
    OP

    Newcomer Xaus Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks for the answers!

    Here to you the back of the card
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    by the way i've buy this card from cheapr4i.com (here the card page) found by shoptemp.net (4 stars out of 5)

    and the first thing i've do to setup the card was extract the wood fw download from r4ids.cn...

    i also noticed right now on r4ids.cn site this page and if i right-click (with firefox) and choose view image on the last six images (the card shown are identical) the url displayed contains the word "fake"... [​IMG] all the images report "fake" on the url, except the one with the box image....

    also in this moment i cannot access to another ds 'cause i've sell my old lite to buy the 3ds...grrrr

    here another image taken from the inside....now i'm almost sure that is a clone? but what clone? i've just tried cyclods ievolution fw and dstti fw but the above screen dislpay always the TF shape...

    ah the image!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  10. theADDict

    Member theADDict GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    motherboard doesnt look like any of the R4i Gold I sell.
    And none of mine have ever had the truth inquiery sticker... only AK2i had those I thought.

    Mine look exactly like those on their website....only with a '6' not a '3'
    http://www.r4ids.cn/r4ids-e.html

    Best email your seller and send him the pictures asking why you haven't got a http://www.r4ids.cn cart ?!
     
  11. Clookster

    Banned Clookster Your Clookster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Suisse Romande
    Country:
    Switzerland
    It's a fake R4i-SDHC Red Box, maybe the Hongkong version.

    They just took the real sticker and box.

    Send it back. Wood will only work as WoodTT 1.25 for DSTT on it.
     
  12. Sebastian

    Member Sebastian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    looks like fake, But cant distinguished from its sticker and box.
    U must call their customer service to consult..
     
  13. Xaus
    OP

    Newcomer Xaus Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    You mean the one from this site? R4i DSHC Revolution

    or from this one? R4i-II

    Edit: aargh to much clones with red box!!
     
  14. Xaus
    OP

    Newcomer Xaus Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    I finally reached a solution.. with the r4i shdc kernel works! but now it's time to tell to the supplier.. eheheh [​IMG]
     
  15. Xaus
    OP

    Newcomer Xaus Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi!!

    I want to inform u how the story with this card ends...

    u know, as you can read above, they sent me the wrong card (R4 sdhc instead of r4 gold), after a couple of emails they send me the right r4 w/out any kind of charge and w/out send back the other card...

    So, as you can understand, now i'm very happy, thanks to their kindly customer service now i've got 2 flashcard at hte price of one.. [​IMG] ayeeeeeee
     

Share This Page