Problem with my 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by Rukia-san, Mar 25, 2011.

Mar 25, 2011

Problem with my 3DS by Rukia-san at 10:41 PM (4,415 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Rukia-san
    OP

    Member Rukia-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    So, I got my 3DS and after playing around with it, I noticed 3 damaged pixels, I was a little disappointed but I can live with it... But when I tried the recorder and the mic test, it was clear that my mic doesn't work properly, what should I do now? Iirc the shop where I bought the 3DS are out of stock, I guess they will not replace it even if I ask for another one? Will they send it to Nintendo? Should I demand a refund?

    2 years ago I sent my DS lite to Nintendo repair and they changed it for another one which was worse and the bottom screen crashed... I don't trust them anymore.
     


  2. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Give Nintendo another chance.
     
  3. Cloak519

    Member Cloak519 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    I personally would try the store first. Maybe when they eventually get them back in stock you'll get a replacement unit.
     
  4. Kawo

    Member Kawo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    DS Phat - 1 dead pixel
    DS Lite - 0 dead pixel
    DSi - 1 or 2? dead pixel
    3DS - 0 dead pixel

    My policy is testing the damn thing in the shop everytime.
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Go to your store. Nintendo wouldn't mess up this bad.

    Your 3DS probably got thrown around in delivery, so it's a good idea to see if you can get a replacement.
     
  6. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    It's strange... So many people say they have dead pixels I have NEVER once gotten a system new with them.

    I guess I am just really lucky. I have gotten launch systems a bunch of times...

    Try going to the same retailer, different store. Check another one that has them in stock.
     
  7. Zarxrax

    Member Zarxrax GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    United States
    If the retailer doesnt have any, just keep it and play with it until they get some more in stock. You usually get 30 days or so in which you can return a product. It's better than having to ship it off to nintendo and being without it for a few weeks.
     
  8. Nintendude92

    Member Nintendude92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Country:
    United States
    Store first; next shipment should be really soon.

    Don't settle for something less than what you paid for
     
  9. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    I had a lot of problems with bad pixels when I first bought my original DS.
    The shop I bought it from was happy enough to exchange it though. Ended up having to exchange 2 or 3 times before I got one without any bad pixels.
     
  10. Rukia-san
    OP

    Member Rukia-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    France
    Thank you guys,
    I'll go to the Shop today and ask them to change it, I can wait for another one if they don't have spare atm, because really if it was only the dead pixels I wouldn't mind but the mic almost don't work...
    Question: Shall I formate the 3DS and pack it back or just give it to them like that? I hope they will not refuse to change it back because I opened the box and played with the system.
     
  11. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    I'd recommend you don't format the 3DS. You have to proof that you have used it and you have seen the dead pixels yourself.
     
  12. Rukia-san
    OP

    Member Rukia-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    France
    Thanks again [​IMG]
    I managed to get it changed but guess what? The new one has hinge issues, really can I be anymore unlucky. What's up with Nintendo? Dead pix, Hinge issues and Black Screen of Death...
    I hope tomorrow he will change it again, if not... [​IMG]
     
  13. PixlCrushr

    Newcomer PixlCrushr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I have been lucky too, as through a multitude of consoles, monitors and LCD T.V's, I have never had a dead pixel!

    Including my 3DS ^^
     
  14. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    The only time I have had a dead pixel on anything was on my tv/monitor I'm using atm. It's right at the bottom and you can barely notice it. I couldn't be arsed sending it back to play.com.
     
  15. R2DJ

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you if the 3DS has bad pixels? I don't know much about bad pixels as I've never encountered a gadget with such glitch.

    Thanks.
     
  16. Arras

    Member Arras ★02

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,717
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    One of the pixels will never change colour.
     
  17. 10_0ARMY

    Member 10_0ARMY THE *Original* 1 Man Army

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Wouldn't you like to know
    Country:
    United States
    Damn, I've got a DS (the original lol) and now I've got a 3DS and I've not had a problem with either of them. I hope your bad luck doesn't last cuz I know if that happend to me I'd get ticked off, but keep fighting till you get what you paid for.

    Good Luck
     
  18. regnad

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    I agree with this. I had a DSL, and the hinge broke after a couple of years because of, frankly, poor design on Nintendo's part. I sent it back to them, they said they could fix it for 30 bucks. In the mail a week later I got a BRAND NEW one, and it works just perfectly. Good deal.
     
  19. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,596
    Country:
    United States
    So pretty much you got a new DSL for 30 bucks. [​IMG]

    That pretty sweet. [​IMG]
     
  20. LordSturm

    Newcomer LordSturm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Australia
    A single dead pixel on the upper display is incredibly noticeable in 3D mode.

    I'd get it replaced.
     

Share This Page