Problem with gamecube discs on wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Halo_Killer, Sep 7, 2009.

Sep 7, 2009
  1. Halo_Killer
    OP

    Newcomer Halo_Killer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Today when I went to play an original gamecube game, the wii gave me "an error has occurred" screen as the disc was reading, before i could go to the disc channel. I then tested the game on the backup launcher on the homebrew channel and it worked. I also tested an original wii game, a backup wii game, and a backup gamecube game all on the disc channel and all of them worked. Any idea what the problem is and how I can fix it?
     
  2. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    You have cioscorp installed?
     
  3. Halo_Killer
    OP

    Newcomer Halo_Killer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    yes, v 3.3
     
  4. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    cIOScorp 3.3 kills Gamecube games. Sorry.
     
  5. Halo_Killer
    OP

    Newcomer Halo_Killer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I reinstalled a fresh v5 BC and I installed waninkoko's cmios. Would going back to 3.2 fix my problem?
     
  6. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a slightly technical explanation for GameCube games not working. cIOSCORP 3.3 puts the rev14 DIP plugin (the code that reads/emulates a DVD) into IOS30, IOS50, and IOS60 (the IOSes used by System Menu 3.0-4.1). The rev14 DIP plugin adds support for the System Menu, but GameCube games throw an error. (Dual layered games are also broken.)

    Reinstalling bc/MIOS would do nothing to solve the problem. (WiiGator's MIOS Patcher 0.2 is a bit better than Waninkoko's, by the way.) There is absolutely no need to downgrade.

    You could still load GameCube backups via a loader (NeoGamma, GameCube Backup Launcher).
     
  7. Halo_Killer
    OP

    Newcomer Halo_Killer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, so all I have to do is install a different version of ios 60 because I'm on 4.1 right? Also, is WiiGator's MIOS Patcher 0.2 better because it can use the backup launcher from the disc channel or is it because of something else? One more thing, when you say "Dual layered games are also broken" do you mean backups, because my original copy of Smash Bros. works just fine?
     
  8. Halo_Killer
    OP

    Newcomer Halo_Killer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
  9. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I had the same problem, as I had PreLoader set to start SysMenu under IOS249 [rev14] in lieu of MenuPatcher. I just opted to use the Gamma autostart channel I had installed alongside the Disc Channel. Only problem, there seem to be more USB drive recognition errors, oddly enough, and the Wii config screen has a tendency to freeze up. So back to IOS30, everything works fine except ye old Disc Channel. Ahh well.
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    cIOSCorp 3.4 (released today) fixes GC support
     
  11. xTerminate

    Newcomer xTerminate Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Ireland
    I installed cIOSCORP 3.4 today and my retail GC games won't work...
     

Share This Page