Problem with drivekey and 4.3 virgin wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DJ_Eric, Dec 23, 2010.

Dec 23, 2010
  1. DJ_Eric
    OP

    Newcomer DJ_Eric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to mod a virgin 4.3 wii. Unfortunately I do not have a retail SSBB, Lego Indiana, or Yu-gi-o. I have burned SSBB and many other games. With my drivekey attached it will not boot any games, not even retail games. All i get is a black screen saying that an error has occured. I have the switched in the correct position for the right region setting. I can even get the drivekey menu to come up by pressing eject 3 times, but I can not launch a single game with it. WTF.

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. DJ_Eric
    OP

    Newcomer DJ_Eric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    BUMP!!!

    Does anyone here have a clue to this issue? I thought drivekey's worked with all firmware version.
     
  3. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Please do not bump threads, as it's against the rules (especially only after one day!) [​IMG]

    If I remember correctly, Drivekey doesn't work anymore on new D3-2 drives, so that might be your problem?
     
  4. DJ_Eric
    OP

    Newcomer DJ_Eric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry about that. I just knew it was going to get lost in the forum. It was already on page 3 when I bumped it.

    It isn't that because I tried it with the drive from my old vulnerable boot1 wii. Oh well. I ended up having to rent SSBB. Really ticked me off.
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry to hear that. The Drivekey worked previously?
     
  6. DJ_Eric
    OP

    Newcomer DJ_Eric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. I even tested it back in my wii and it worked perfectly fine. I could not find anyone complaining about a drivekey not working with 4.3, but I guess everyone already has theirs softmodded.
     
  7. airline38

    Member airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    Taiwan
    The problem could be the D9(DL) disc you used.

    Although I never used a drivekey, a DVD+R DL disc is a better choice.

    Oh, BTW , did you use Imgburn to burn ur disc ? U need to set up 2084960
    as the layer break.
     
  8. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    i feel your pain - it sucks to have to pay for shit.
     
  9. DJ_Eric
    OP

    Newcomer DJ_Eric Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the disc works on my other wii that is currently at 4.1
     

Share This Page