Problem with 999

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Kuras, Feb 22, 2011.

Feb 22, 2011

Problem with 999 by Kuras at 6:31 PM (1,285 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Kuras
    OP

    Newcomer Kuras Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    I am trying to translate 999: 9H 9P 9D, and I've opened the rom
    to discover where the text and the graphics were.

    I've found the text and the font, and i can edit them, but
    that's not the same with the images, because I can't
    open them, so I can't edit them. I've opened one of the graphic's file
    with an hex editor and that's what it shows:
    start.dat

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ihackedit

    Member ihackedit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Australia, Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorta like how you just double click images in a winrar file and its all just jiberish text?
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Get familiar with CrystalTile2.
     
  4. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
    Use CrystalTile 2 open the rom with it there is a little icon of a nintendo ds all the files you need are there edit with a hex editor.
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Uh no... that's essentially what he's doing now.
    If you can correctly edit an image in a hex editor you have way too much time on your hands.

    You need to open the file with the image(s) in it, then use the [​IMG] icon to switch to Tile Editor mode. You'll need to play around with some settings (Offset, width, height, Tile form and number of tiles tall/wide) to get the image to show properly, also you'll have to load a palette either from the file (not sure how) or from an external file.
     
  6. Kuras
    OP

    Newcomer Kuras Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    I've tried to see the graphic with Crystaltile and with TM, but I haven't found anything.
    So, the file must be compressed, or not?
    Anyway, I upload the file: http://www.mediafire.com/?nfqqng60b8m2t7u
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt that file has any images.

    They're usually NCGR for the image and NCLR for a palette.
    And I think that's a little on the small side for an image of any significant size.
     
  8. Kuras
    OP

    Newcomer Kuras Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    But it must be an image, because i replaced it with one of the japanese
    version of the game, and the button start changed.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Can you show me a picture of what the button looks like ingame?
    I didn't realize it was just a button.
     
  10. Kuras
    OP

    Newcomer Kuras Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    For sure. That's how it like ingame:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Not that it means anything, not really a rom hacker in any sense, but I can't get it open.
    It probably has some sort of compression on it. Maybe you could try decompressing it with the LZ77 tool.
     
  12. Kuras
    OP

    Newcomer Kuras Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    So, there isn't a way to open it, right?
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Well... I couldn't get it open with CT2/TileMolester as-is, and I tried to decompress it with Darth Nemesis' BatchLZ77.
    I'm stumped, but that doesn't mean a whole lot. I know next to nothing about ROM hacking.
     

Share This Page