Premium Flashing Service

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by Ethevion, Nov 1, 2010.

Nov 1, 2010

Premium Flashing Service by Ethevion at 2:01 PM (1,558 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Ethevion
    OP

    Member Ethevion Wannabe Artist

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,779
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it worth it to pay the extra $2.00 for it or is it something I can do on my own?
     


  2. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    if your talking about the acecard 2i, then its easy to do it on your own, there are tutorials, so long as you either have a ds lite/phat or a dsi that is not greater than 1.4 or 1.4.1.
     
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    if you can do it on your own, then do it on your own. [​IMG]
    there are a lot of unconfident people who are afraid they won't be able to get their cart to work (not knowing which software they need to use etc.)
    think of clueless parents offering a flashcart to their child...
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the card you're ordering, your DS model (and firmware if it's a DSi/XL), and your ability to read instructions and copy-paste files. X3
     
  5. Ethevion
    OP

    Member Ethevion Wannabe Artist

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,779
    Country:
    Canada
    It is an Acekard 2i so if it's as easy as you make it sound then I guess I wont be getting the Flashing Service. Hopefully I don't screw it up. [​IMG]

    Oh and it's a DS Lite with 1.4 I believe.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DS Lite doesn't have any cart-blocking firmware, so you don't need the service.
     
  7. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Im lost why would you want/need to flash you DS lite?
     
  8. Ethevion
    OP

    Member Ethevion Wannabe Artist

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,779
    Country:
    Canada
    Not the DS Lite, the MicroSD card that I'm going to buy with an Acekard.
     
  9. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You only need the AK2i flashed if you're using it on a DSi or intend to use it on a DSi. On bog-standard DS Phat/Lite you don't need to worry as there's no flashcart blocking code in the firmware. It's not the MicroSD card that's flashed, it's the AK2i itself.
     
  10. Ethevion
    OP

    Member Ethevion Wannabe Artist

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,779
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh really? I thought the MicroSD was flashed because in the shop you only get the option when you pick a card.
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I recall, if you choose the Premium Flashing Service without a MicroSD card it costs $1 and the flash the Acekard for DSi firmware 1.4.1

    If you add a MicroSD card at the same time, the Premium Flashing Service costs $2. In this case in addition to flashing the Acekard they will set AKAIO up on the MicroSD card.

    edit: Ok, so now it's $2 for the Premium Flashing Service regardless if you add a MicroSD card or not. If You want the Premium Flashing Service without a MicroSD card, just choose 'none' as the MicroSD card.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The flashing service updates both the flash cart, and adds the latest firmware to the microsd (if you ordered with one).
     
  13. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    They packed it up a good deal of homebrew too... you dont get an empty card its ready to go
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Do they?
    I assume they'll add moonshell, but what else?
     
  15. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    The current homebrew pack that we provide contains the following files:

    10 games: GameUP, StillAliveDS, Pocket Physics, Vector Tower Defense, MegaETK, Omalone, Setsuzoku no Puzzle, A Touch of War, Meteora, Crocodingus
    10 applications: DSOrganize 3.2, NDSMail 0.60, DSFile 0.5, DSLinux, Bunjalloo 0.8, Phidias, Beup Live MSN 0.7, clIRC 0.06, Colors! 1.06h, NitroTracker 0.4, Facebook4NDS 1.3
    5 emulators: LameBoy (GB/GBC) 0.12, NesDS (NES), SnemulDS 0.6a2 (SNES), JEnesisDS (Genesis/Mega Drive), AtariDS

    http://shoptemp.com/pages/ShopTemp-Premium...te-Service.html

    I really like the flashing service, since I don't have a DS. That's why I prefer Shoptemp for Acekard 2.i
     
  16. pcmanrules

    Member pcmanrules GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Doesn't sound a bad service if you count the homebrew included & setup, that scares some people.
     
  17. Garchomp

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    So...if i plan to get a Supercard DSTWO for Xmas, and i have a DSi 1.4.1....do i need to get the flashing service?
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No, the DSTwo can update itself.
     
  19. Garchomp

    Member Garchomp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Isshu Region
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! So the Supercard is working on the latest DSi updates then?
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It bypasses them all already.

    When the 1.4.1 update came out, they had a fix for it within 24 hours.
     

Share This Page