Pre-steps for wii game burning

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by isaac52, Nov 22, 2008.

Nov 22, 2008

Pre-steps for wii game burning by isaac52 at 4:39 PM (1,449 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, out of the 8 burns ive donem only 3 games work properly! And SMG gets read in the preview, but then before anything starts, it stops reading X_X

    Is there anything i should do before burning games?

    I already use wiifrii to patch them to my japanese wii, and Wiu1.1 to get rid of the brick blocker, but some games still dont work!

    Is there anything else i should to to ensure my brawl, legend of zelda TP, galaxy, and harvest moon get burned properly?
    I'm almost out of DVDs, and have the money, nor transportation to get them soon.

    Edit: Oh, and i switch from burning at 2x, and 4x, but my main is 2x. and i use IMGBURN.
     
  2. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    I use 1x but that really shouldent make a difference what type of DVD's are you using?
     
  3. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States

    DVD+r
     
  4. Ltkort

    Newcomer Ltkort Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Ok, you need to use dvd-r....... it makes a difference or trying to use backup creator, works at my place
     
  5. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Change book type or get DVD-R.
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    TDK DVD+R discs work fine for me. Never had a failed disc.
    I use imgburn and use 2.4x speed (my burner won't go faster). I always let it verify the disc, and that always has 100% success
     
  7. SchuchWun

    Member SchuchWun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    The Burbs
    Country:
    Canada
    Use ImgBurn to burn your disks as opposed to Nero (which is good also) but ImgBurn is better for wii games.

    Select the slowest speed possible (usually 2x) and select verify at the end to make sure there is no problems.

    Done this way you will ensure a quality burn with a slim chance of getting a coaster.
     
  8. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    ok, well the dvd+rw was a definite need, so thanks for that suggestion.

    now galaxy works fine, but brawl and TP do not [​IMG]

    all three are pal btw.

    anything i need to do to get them to work? Especially TP, i really just want it for the homebrew channel(despite the game itself looking like its awesome, but i have other games i want to play right now)
     
  10. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try NTSC-U versions then. PAL always gave me problems but not so with NTSC-U.
     
  11. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States

    ugh, so i got to re-burn?

    Or can i patch? :wtf:

    Cause when i patch, i always make it ntsc-j for my jap wii.
     
  12. IronMask

    Member IronMask Official WiiStuntman First to Test ciosCorp!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Somewhere in USA
    Country:
    United States
    You may also want to check the compatibility list and see if they are working without any patching... some of the games in that past that were incompatible are now compatible patching w/ waninoko's iso patcher v1. You just drag the .iso (game) on the isopatcher.exe and type in 249. This has worked for alot of nonworking games before which has since made gamma almost completely compatible with all games.

    So just hang in there and don't throw away all your discs just yet... I have had my stack go down before to a new loader and I am sure this will happen again.


    Good luck.
     
  13. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like IronMask mentioned, refer to the website I posted above. I follow that guide and all the games work perfectly! So if yours are PAL games, just scroll down to the PAL section.

    I haven't been active in the forum for quite some time. Apparently there are alot of new homebrew apps now that are installed into the Wii which allow you to boot out of region games with no problems. GeckoOs? I have yet to use it but seems to work pretty well. Might want to have a look into it.
     
  14. isaac52
    OP

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, thanks.
    Seems like i need to use freeloader for TP to load :3 Thanks guys!
    As for brawl... they dont list it for pal to ntsc-j, so seems like i will be needing to re-download ><

    But i dont use gamma, i use wiikey1.9
     
  15. ashesburn

    Member ashesburn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on wiikey 1.9s as well.

    Have a look at this topic. It might help.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=76736

    I managed to play SSBB NTSC-U version on my Jap console.
     

Share This Page