OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
donut.eu.org
XP
Country
Finland
I know I'm just giving this script kiddie attention, but it's better to be safe than sorry.
Also apologies if this is badly written, I'm not good at using forums.
Basically, there's a guy who I won't name going around writing Wii brickers disguised as harmless WADs (such as a Golden Axe VC WAD) or homebrew applications.
Their biggest project, which I won't name either, is a fork of KoreanKii that just installs the korean key onto your Wii's SEEPROM. This by itself wouldn't be difficult to recover from, but here's the catch; it also deletes EVERYTHING off your SD card and USB drive.
They're planning on sharing malicious WADs and applications right here on GBATemp, which is why I finally made a post about this.
They're also claiming to have written WiiGPT, and that RiiConnect24 and WiiLink have been "stealing their hard work", which just isn't true and is them trying to make up some sort of rationale for doing these awful things.

TL;DR don't install random WADs or run random homebrew apps, test on dolphin first!

Disorarara

Trophies
XP
Country
Not to potentially besmirch someone's good name but I'm guessing this is the individual you're referring to?

Also what's WiiGPT? I've not seen it posted about here or on Wiibrew.

Reactions: Felold

master801

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Not to potentially besmirch someone's good name but I'm guessing this is the individual you're referring to?

That definitely looks like the person in question.

Especially considering the comments in this one:

Also, looks like they're using the same bogus ass argument SilicaAndPina tried using when he released that malicious PS Vita app.
The: "I'm doing this malicious action to totally raise awareness about <X> problem!"
Screenshot_99.png

Raise awareness, my ass.

Last edited by master801,

emilydaemon

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
donut.eu.org
XP
Country
Finland

Yep, it's that guy.