Post your setup June

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by FAST6191, May 31, 2007.

May 31, 2007

Post your setup June by FAST6191 at 11:43 AM (3,169 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,703
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I returned to my hometown and found a bunch of equipment I acquired over the last few years and figured I would make a monster, I would like to believe I succeeded (the only thing missing was a throw switch, I had to make do with a labcoat).

    What you see is my setup from a few months back:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=42858&st=0
    A ps2 wired in via a VGA box with assorted speakers and my 4 monitors.

    My only problem is I am at my mums house for this gig and chances or me still being in possession of breathing privileges come morning are:
    vegas odds: no bet
    magic 8 ball: exploded in my face.

    Pictures (I was lazy and used paint to downsize so apologies for quality):
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     


  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Nice man! i like the crt goodness XD
    Are they all 15inch and the lcd 17inch?
    May i ask whether you used a particular software for your setup or the default software?

    I took some pics the other day of my current setup using my aunts cam, but unfortunately THE USB CABLE WASN'T IN SIGHT! ARGH

    and then i just checked but the camera has been returned to her with the photos on it. lol.

    Some other time i'll manage to post a pic. (maybe i should buy a camera?)

    Anyways, i have a 17inch LCD and a 19inch CRT using dualview setup, not alot of peripherals around it, just some cables, an external HDD, and the usual modems, printer speakers etc.
     
  3. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,703
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The little one on the right is an old 14 I have had for about 10 years now, the one next to it is 15 and the LCD 19. The other crt is 16/17

    My big crt died not so long ago unfortunately.

    As for camera I only managed to post in this one (first time in about 6 of these threads because I borrowed my sisters.
     
  4. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That is quite a monster [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    my cozy space [​IMG]
     
  5. shaffaaf27

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nice antec 900 there. will be getting one soon.


    PS why the fu(k do you need 4 monitors?

    one for ur pc and one for ps2...what are the other 2 for?
     
  6. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,703
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @RAM try having multiple monitors for a few days and then you will see, 4 is overkill though.

    My biggest gripe is I had to disable SLI which is probably going to mean a nice performance hit on games.
     
  7. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
    I love my new HP w2207 [​IMG]
     
  8. larvi

    Member larvi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    Nice! I'm always putting together systems from parts laying around as well. No pictures but here's all the pc's that I have currently in the house that are working:

    Main system P4 2.67ghz Soyo PE845 ISA system dual boot Win98/XP - Nothing state of the art but currently the best mobo I can find that supports ISA cards. Still have a lot of old hw attached to this, Roland SCC-1/MT32, SB16, E-merger/Flash Advance/EZ Reader, etc

    IBM T42 Laptop WinXP - used for work to support one account

    IBM X31 Laptop WinXP - used for work to support another account

    HP P4 1.6 WinXP - Setup for my wife to use

    HP AMD XP 3200+ WinXP - Setup for my youngest daughter

    IBM R50 laptop WinXP - Setup for my oldest daugther

    PIII 800 Mhz WinXP - Setup as shared file storage

    PIII 600 Mhz W2K - Setup as a backup server to backup other computer on network

    Celeron 550Mhz Win98 - Hooked to TV as an emulation station

    Gateway 486-66DX2 Dos/Win3.1 - Used for old game support, currently having some drive issues. My old SCSI HDs died and the BIOS won't support more than 8192cyl for IDE. Currently using an IDE to CF adapter and using a 2GB CF card as the primary HD but having some problems with data corruption, maybe a problem with smartdrive.

    Future projects call for upgrading the PIII 800 to a quad core processor MB/processors as soon as the prices drop a bit (I think they are scheduled to come down in July)
     
  9. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    [​IMG]

    Before you say it's very tidy, let me tell you that this is not my room. [​IMG]
     
  10. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    uuuuhhhhhh i haev a pc and ummm

    a keyboard
     
  11. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing really to show off here. I'm very worried about my software setup though. things are slowing down...
     
  12. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    maybe you can try defragging you HDD? deleting old programs?

    Recently my suburb had junk collection, and there were CRT monitors everywhere! I picked up a 19inch (more info on another topic i created)
    but i saw at least SIX 15inch CRTs within about 5 streets around my house.

    I didn't think about it but i could have built a monster setup just to beat fast's number of monitors haha [​IMG]


    As for multiple screens, i've my dual screen setup great, although not quite as aesthetically pleasing as i might like, given on is a 17inch LCD and one is a 19 inch CRT.
    I find it useful having the ability to display more documents at once without so much clutter. It also makes multitasking easier.
     
  13. shaffaaf27

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    but doesnt it just stretch the destop over 2 monitoes, which will look kinda sh!t?

    does it allow you to play unreal or a racing game, multiplayer instead on slpit screen, btu on player on one screen, and one of the other?
     
  14. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,703
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it gives you however many desktops you have for the monitors, you can get the same display on one or more of the screens as well.

    As for games they would have to be programmed to do that (VBAlink works nicely with such a setup) but it is fairly rare for such a thing to happen, there is the odd tech demo for racing games that act a bit like a cockpit as well. Having a manual/reference (work or play) on one screen is nice though.

    @jelbo that is a nice looking screen.
     
  15. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Matrox's Triple Head 2 Go does the triple/double monitor things for alot of games.
     
  16. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    My setup pwns all.

    A crappy laptop on my bed.

    TAKE THAT BIATCHES, UR ENVIOUS

    [​IMG]
     
  17. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,829
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    _______PC and 360 area________|__________TV area_____________|_________Kewl posters_____________|

    Who can spot all the game consoles/handhelds? [​IMG]

    Sorry about the crappiness of the photos but I had to use my phone as my camera's broke [​IMG]
     
  18. FlashAdv

    Member FlashAdv Lord of the Rings Online

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    cable management ftw [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Oh the upright Shelf are the DS GAMES/GBA :'| and on the Desk where the 360 is it looks like a Black NDS? PIC TOO BIG!!!
     
  20. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    no wai

    my computer with a keyboard powns u sooo bad
     

Share This Page