Possible Fix for Netflix [Wii] Buffering Issues

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by knuxyl, Oct 2, 2016.

1. knuxyl
    OP

knuxyl Newbie

Newcomer
    Oct 2, 2016
    United States
    I have found a very certain problem with my Nintendo Wii 4.3U. It is softmodded, so I am not sure if this applies to everyone.
    I installed the latest Netflix from the Wii Shop Channel.
    Occasionally I noticed that when I'm watching something, after a little bit it'll start buffering for like 15+ seconds and only play for like 10. Worked fine on my computer, so I thought about, what have I done different with the Wii?
    Well I started playing gamecube games recently and had my GC memory card and controller plugged in. I kept the controller plugged in and took the memory card out and everything has been fine since.
    Just now my videos kept buffering again and I thought maybe I was having wifi issues and I noticed I had my GC memory card in. I took it out and instantly the video started playing and hasn't buffered since.

So to fix Netflix buffering problems, take out all Gamecube memory cards. Controllers don't cause a problem, but the memory cards do.

I recorded proof of this problem. I am absolutely 100% sure this is what was causing my buffering issues. I don't know about yours, but I would suggest taking out the gamecube memory card.

Last edited by knuxyl, Oct 3, 2016
  2. MissingNO123

MissingNO123 Jigglypuff

Nov 24, 2012
    Canada
    hell
    Why would you use a Wii?

3. GreyWolf

GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    Not very helpful...

@OP: Try changing your Wifi channel maybe?

4. knuxyl
    OP

knuxyl Newbie

Newcomer
    Oct 2, 2016
    United States
    No it is most certainly the gamecube memory card causing the problem. I can record a video to prove it if you like but I'd rather not.

5. DiscostewSM

DiscostewSM GBAtemp Guru

Feb 10, 2009
    United States
    Sacramento, California