Hacking Pokemon Platinum sav issue

Pikachunk

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
I looked everywhere and tried every solution but Pokemon Platinum will not load ANY saves. Regardless of size. I've changed the size and name several times and started with a fresh file every time in case of corruption but I'm still having problems...

File is named as follows:

pokemonplatinum.nds

Sav file is:

pokemonplatinum.nds.sav

I've tried the Sav at 512kb and at 1mb but no luck. Can anyone help me? By the way I'm using Acekard 21 with newest Akaio
 

XFelixX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
USA
XP
83
Country
United States
yup. you don't need the *.nds

just *.sav

that should work, but keep the size big too so it doesn't blow out on you.
 

raptir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
There are a lot of people who say that it only needs a 4Mb (512kB) save, but others say it needs an 8Mb (1MB) save file. I've used the 512kB save and never had an issue.
 

synergy_solid

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
United States
XFelixX said:
wait...why is 4Mb only 512kb? i'm confused...

A byte is 8 bits

Mb = megabits (1024 x 1024 bits)

MB = Megabytes (1024 x 1024 bytes) or 8Mb (megabits)

4Mb (megabits) / 8 (bytes) = 1/2 MB (megabytes) = 512 KB (kilobytes)

Clear as mud? lol
 

Mages4ever

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
406
Trophies
0
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
100
Country
Canada
raptir said:
There are a lot of people who say that it only needs a 4Mb (512kB) save, but others say it needs an 8Mb (1MB) save file. I've used the 512kB save and never had an issue.

However, I've used 512kB and have gotten my game corrupted. So I'd use a 1MB file to be safe o-o.
 

raptir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
Mages4ever said:
raptir said:
There are a lot of people who say that it only needs a 4Mb (512kB) save, but others say it needs an 8Mb (1MB) save file. I've used the 512kB save and never had an issue.

However, I've used 512kB and have gotten my game corrupted. So I'd use a 1MB file to be safe o-o.

But then you're screwed if you try to use Pokesav since it'll make it a 512kB file anyway.
 

Mages4ever

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
406
Trophies
0
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
100
Country
Canada
raptir said:
Maybe it's just the version that runs on the DS itself, not the PC version.

Nah. I only use my PC for Pokesav, and my Sav file is still 1 MB so..
Try it before we argue some more x)

(Unless you mean that when you use Pokesav on your DS, it converts it back to 512MB, then I get it. But the PC one doesn't convert it.)
 

XFelixX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
USA
XP
83
Country
United States
synergy_solid said:
XFelixX said:
wait...why is 4Mb only 512kb? i'm confused...

A byte is 8 bits

Mb = megabits (1024 x 1024 bits)

MB = Megabytes (1024 x 1024 bytes) or 8Mb (megabits)

4Mb (megabits) / 8 (bytes) = 1/2 MB (megabytes) = 512 KB (kilobytes)

Clear as mud? lol


Ah, I see. Sorry i'm just used to everything using bytes. I didn't know AK used bits. thats good to know
 

raptir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
Yeah, I mean that the one that runs on your DS auto-converts it to 512kB. All I use it for is changing natures and stuff, so I don't tend to transfer the file off.

Also, Platinum defaults to 512kB on the Acekard even with an up-to-date savelist...
 

Masked Ranger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
502
Trophies
0
XP
100
Country
It's not just the AK that uses bits, it's pretty much the whole video game community that uses megabits (Nintendo's N64 didn't mean 64 byte).
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Lol AHS is getting funny two dudes and two girls get pregnant
    Gift
  • Toastee_ @ Toastee_:
    Whats AHS?
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    What are you supposed to do when you have a thousand dollar piece of hardware that won't work because the API the manufacturer provided doesn't want to work?
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Ebay
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh great.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It's a Linux bug.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Well a bug with their Linux drivers or something.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It captures 2x the amount of packets on Windows 10 in a freaking VM where USB access is slower/more latent.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what is this piece of hardware @gudenau
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Beagle 480
    Gift
  • T-hug @ T-hug:
    Dune 2021 1080p HDRip X264 AC3-EVO
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Dune? Reminds me of seeing my ex naked
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Oh yeah Dune movie is out, watching it later
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Here is hoping 2022 is a good year for DC cinematic universe
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Honestly don't really know what Dune is.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Anyone here know much about Jetbrains InteliJ Idea?
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Oh, T-hug was here :blink:
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Hey, where the admins at? Come in the chat. I got a idea. How bout a Sound notification or something when someone tags you in chat? :ninja:
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Post it in the v8 feedback thread
    Gift
  • Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Post what sorry? I'm guessing we were talking about this ages ago, but I haven't been on GBATemp in almost a year so my memory is failing me :-/
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    feedback and or bugs that may have popped up since the migration to XenForo 2!
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Umm...I think you might have the wrong person, since that may as well have been written in Chinese. I have nothing to do with the management of this site, nor have I ever been involved. I'm just a member, and hardly even qualify as that...like I said my last post was almost a year ago lol
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Lol no, Sonic Angel Knight had an idea, best would be to post it in that thread haha
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...
    Gift
    OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983: Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...