Pokemon Platinum + Cheats = Death?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by shaaynn, May 10, 2009.

May 10, 2009
  1. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Has anyone, that has Pokemon Platinum and a corrupted/deleted save file used cheats in their game?

    Has anyone had a corrupted/deleted save file and NOT used cheats?

    Just seeing whether the save corruption is a hardware problem or not.

    EDIT: This is including the 1mb save file.
     


  2. Keeley

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    ur proabbly saving it as a 512mb .sav convert it to 1mb and it should be ok

    Edit: Unless its a retail game
     
  3. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, I guess I wasnt clear. I was using an 1mb save file and it still corrupts, although I did use PokeSav and cheats.
     
  4. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simple. Don't use cheats.

    if not, then try the code that is called somethign like "verification"
     
  5. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Im seeing if cheats is the problem.
     
  6. Keeley

    Member Keeley GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Saskachewan
    Country:
    Canada
    did u try just editing the .sav it would be easier and more safer
     
  7. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    Editting as in making it larger or PokeSav?
    I've used the 1mb savlib for the save file and PokeSav for cheating ..
     
  8. Teelow

    Member Teelow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Wait Which FlashCart Are you using, Because Im using a Supercard DSone and Im perfectly Fine
     
  9. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using DSTT w/ 1mb savlib.
     
  10. blooddrake

    Member blooddrake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    santo andré
    Country:
    Brazil
    1mb??? isn,t suppose tobe 512 kb????
     
  11. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    you are not the first to have this problem~! there are many others encountered such problem under various situation
    therefore, i am not suprise that you get a corrupt save ~!
    this game have a checksum code! so always backup your save [​IMG]
     
  12. shaaynn
    OP

    Member shaaynn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Canada
    wow that sucks, that means everytime I save I backup? I use to save twice so when it corrupts it doesnt change but then after 3rd gym, my save file got deleted.

    All I did:
    - Cheats
    - Trimmed Rom
     
  13. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    as mentioned
    try don't use cheats!
    use pokesav [​IMG]
     
  14. geminisama

    Member geminisama Metsu

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    I use cheats, (Fast Egg Hatch, Cloning, and Wild Pokemon Modifier sometimes when I EV train), and I sometimes use PokeSav to back up files for trade, clone without the hassle of cheats. With using those methods, I've pumped in 292 hours without problems on my iTouch DS. Regardless of having a flawless fun, I backup my sav about once every 2-3 days, to be safe.

    If you cheat, you should back up saves frequently. This applies to any game that saves progress.
     
  15. kenzspellz

    Member kenzspellz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    GBAtemp-NDSL:PokemonFan =P
    Country:
    Singapore
    try redownloading the rom again..it might be a faulty rom..mine corrupted once even without cheating ..and i tried downloading it again and it is working fine
     
  16. Junsukiyoo

    Newcomer Junsukiyoo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Hey, i was really confused with my nds cheat.
    I download edge cheat files from gba temp too...
    And ur cheat is can't complete my pokedex.
    So i was stucked in battlle area.
    Can you help me solved it?
     
  17. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i don't really get you [​IMG]
    remember... not all cheats works on all flash card
    furthermore, this game contains a checksum
    so use the cheats wisely

    if would be better if you just use pokesav and start a new game [​IMG]
     
  18. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    The cheats are known to crash on a lot of different flash cards, I know they don't work on the EZ Flash Vi and a number of other cards.
     
  19. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    I have been using the same 512kb save file since I got the game back in September, there is nothing wrong with it having 512kb.
     
  20. TheDarkSeed

    Member TheDarkSeed I'm a pretentious sack of shit

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Carson
    Country:
    United States
    I use my AK2 with all the cheats in hell! My .sav corrupted once but luckily I back up my entire micro sd frequently.

    I don't think my .sav corruption had anything to do with the cheats, It was a file system error. Thats when my entire card fucked up(and every other .sav corrupted). For the record, I also trimmed the rom.
     

Share This Page