ROM Hack Pokemon Liquid Crystal (Fire Red Hack)

thaddius

Charmander is not pleased.
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
1,345
Trophies
1
Age
111
Website
Visit site
XP
1,238
Country
Canada
This was released a while ago (Xmas 2011 apparently), but it's a hack of Fire Red that turns it into a remake of Pokemon Crystal for the GBC (companion to Silver/Gold).

I've uploaded it to file trip. Here's the original website if you, y'know, wanna check it out or something.

EDIT: Quick side note, it doesn't seem to be quite finished. Keep that in mind.
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
Isn't Liquid Crystal the one that required emulator-specific hacks for part of it to work, and only actually works on certain VBA builds? Or am I thinking of something else?
 

thaddius

Charmander is not pleased.
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
1,345
Trophies
1
Age
111
Website
Visit site
XP
1,238
Country
Canada
Isn't Liquid Crystal the one that required emulator-specific hacks for part of it to work, and only actually works on certain VBA builds? Or am I thinking of something else?
After looking into it a little more, it turns out that you are right. You need to use an emulator. Specifically, this one.
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
Yeah, I figured it was this one. Don't get me wrong, it's great that there are people this dedicated to GBA hacking (in fact, there's a patch in progress to allow hackers to use all 649 Pokemon and B/W mechanics in FR/LG hacks), but it's just kind of useless if it doesn't actually work on real hardware.
 

thaddius

Charmander is not pleased.
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
1,345
Trophies
1
Age
111
Website
Visit site
XP
1,238
Country
Canada
Indeed. I'm rather disappointed now that I know I can't play on the real hardware. Ah well. guess I'll just have to play the original. *sigh*
 

FireEmblemGuy

Celebrating a decade of shitposting
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
2,462
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
871
Country
United States
Looks like for the most part it works on real hardware, just not the RTC or day/night system. Unless more's changed since the outdated link I looked at.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That is neat, but I wonder bout lag/ delay with it
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i remember have this for rca inputs over rf in the late 90's, iy was neat but i bet has a chunk of input lag when gaming.
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i just prefer wired connections, more stability in general. i do ftp to my ps2 and og xbox and sometimes my 14tbof network storage for archival purposes
    .
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ye I use to have set ups like those but now I just fell less wires the better
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    when i say network storage i mean locally over openmediavault.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    one day i will set up the hp dl380 g7 i got for $50. when i have an appropriate closet to blockout the wind turbines it houses for fans.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it's got like 48gb of ddr3 in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I almost got enough spare parts to do a secondary pc build with a 7950 windforce wonder what it benches out to these days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    3gb gddr5 lol
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i had a 960 2gb in the server for a min as a gaming pc probably
    a bottle neck with two xeon x5680's , it wasn't terrible not the best experience but nothing amazing fits in u2 rack mount server anyway.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it was the loudest gaming experience for sure tho.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    also probably had the power bill higher than my 5800x3d and 6950xt do.
    wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist: also probably had the power bill higher than my 5800x3d and 6950xt do.