Pokemon fan gets played out

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by matt1freek, Feb 10, 2011.

Feb 10, 2011
  1. matt1freek
    OP

Member matt1freek GBAtemp Fan

United States
    So i have a confession to make.. I'm knocking on 30's door and i play pokemon..
    Now the thing is while I have been a gamer my whole life (starting with pong and atari 2600) I never really got into pokemon before.
    At least until a few months before HGSS came out. I started playing Platinum and instantly fell in love with the game. The custimization and team building strategy instantly sucked me in. Being a big fan of FF Tactics and Disgaea its not hard to see what i enjoy about pokemon. It wasnt long before I purchased Soul Silver and began a mission to "catch em all". got damn close too... mowing through leaf green, ruby, and black soon after that.
    Now to get to my point, I started playing battles online (through pokemon lab) and I think it may have ruined it for me. no matter how good my team is "in my mind" I keep getting mowed over by 12 year olds.. this combined with the nagging sensation that pokemon is for kids may have finally broke my will..
    For a long time I convinced myself if I enjoy it eF what everyone else thinks.. and i caught alot of crap from alot of different people. At the same point it broke the ice with some younger coworkers who grew up on pokemon. Yeah i guess they'd be working age now..

So what have you to say about this? Should i just stay off shoddy battle and stick to the solo player?
    Should i continue my Ef what everyone else thinks mentality?
    IS there a good option for after beating the game to play that doesnt involve battling online (Or is shoddy battle a bad representation of that?)?

I look forward to your responses

2. rockstar99

Member rockstar99 Hi

Canada
    Smogon
    Thats all you need

3. matt1freek
    OP

Member matt1freek GBAtemp Fan

United States