Plesse help me SSBB (error code 001)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TurpS, Feb 13, 2008.

Feb 13, 2008
  1. TurpS
    OP

    Newcomer TurpS Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Japan
    Hi details of rig

    Japanese wii,
    latest firmware
    wii key latest stuff ( 1.9g)



    Am trying to run the 7.2 gig version of SSBB. Burn went fine.
    Installed the update. Which should be no problem seeing as the wii is Japanese
    Disc channel loads the disc
    http://turps.nastyhobbit.org/Temp/so-close-so%20far.jpg as seen here

    however when I click start I get this error

    http://turps.nastyhobbit.org/Temp/erorr-code.jpg



    Translates as
    "Error code 001 Unknown device found"

    Is this the wii key? I was under the impression it could not be found

    Anyone with more info or am I soundly boned?

    Heads up bought the real deal game on the day it came out (live in Japan) however the disc can't be read

    Do I have to wait for an update from wii key team?

    Any information is greatly appreciated

    ***** UPDATE

    If i put the 1.9G patch on again and then reboot with brawl it loads but shortaly after I create a save file I get a disc read error (could need a higher quality disc)
    however when I reboot I get the error code 001 again. I have to repatch to 1.9G again to get it to load ( I assume)
    Any ideas?


    ***** UPDATE 2
    Just tried to do this again, and I get error code 001 again, have no idea how I got it to run that one time




    TurpS
     
  2. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Uhm... if you have the original, why don't you just run that?
     
  3. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    Real game can't be read with Wiikey
     
  4. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Oh, yeah, right.

    Hmm... how about starting a DVD5-backup (which should not produce the #001 error, as it's probably media-related) and then swapping with either the original or the DVD9 backup? Would that work?
     
  5. jpxdude

    Member jpxdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you back up to a DVD-R DL, or DVD+R DL?

    some DVD-R DL's don't work properly on the Wii, and some media is bad, such as Verbatim dvd's made in india. Also, the DVD burner might not be too good.

    Firstly try different media (I used TDK DVD+R DL) and maybe a different burner, like at a friends place or something. If this doesn't work, then it might be a problem with the Wiikey, or possible corrupt image file.
     
  6. TurpS
    OP

    Newcomer TurpS Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Japan
    Thanks everyone

    Yes I to have come to the conclusion that the problem is media related. The fact that it managed to load once indicates that there is nothing wrong with chip or image.

    I did in fact use a TDK - R DL disc. So I am going to pick up a couple of different brands of DL + discs this afternoon and try again after work.

    Fail that I can use the swap method with the DVD5 rip. However I suspect this is not needed as the problem is image related.


    My burner is a little over a year old, so I suspect it should be fine.

    All help and suggestions were greatly appreciated.
    I am going to look for verbertium discs made in Singapore

    Sony discs are also of very high quality, or so I have read.
     
  7. Julian017

    Newcomer Julian017 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then why does my DVD+R DL Verbatim India works flawless?
     
  8. Krazplay

    Newcomer Krazplay Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    France
    That does not mean it will work for everyone, you can have a good burner, or a wii with a more powerful laser than the average (mine was so crappy I had to play with the pot, otherwise my Wii didn't even try to read DVD+R DL, they didn't even spin before being rejected...)

    TurpS, I can only advice you not to buy Verbatim DL, even with the singapore ones some people have troubles, I tried to burn it with two different burners and I got the same crash as some other people who had Verbatim too.
    But with a Memorex, it works perfectly.
    Even if it do work on Verbatim DVD+R DL for some people, you should not take the risk and just buy another brand.
     
  9. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    Are these DVD DL good?
    here
     
  10. Hermessz

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    As because you are in japan, buy Taiyo Yuden. It may be a little expensive, but it's high quality (Damn high quality, it's made in japan), and It sure gives results.
     

Share This Page