Play Psx/Ps1 on DS (Download + Tutorial)

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by LeomelsonBato, Mar 17, 2012.

Mar 17, 2012
  1. LeomelsonBato
    OP

    Member LeomelsonBato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Philippines
    ok as i said yesterday i will make a Configuration for a Psx which run along side Win2DS.... the game is kinda laggy like anyone said would be but it is still depends on the kind of game...if you spotted any bugs,crashes, black screens report it here...

    Download: http://www.2shared.c...7C3/PSX_DS.html

    the tutorial is inside the download....



    Edit: i forgot to change the PsxDS_(Basic).exe icon... the icon is still the P64 icon.... will change the icon later....
     


  2. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Didn't this get criticized the last time?
     
  3. LeomelsonBato
    OP

    Member LeomelsonBato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Philippines
    this is different from the last time... the Moderator said that GBAtemp community is incapable of assisting you. so no one could help me... and made it myself....

    In the last topic i am searching for help but in this topic i am releasing the program...
     
  4. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    No I meant how this exact idea was criticized by saying it will lag and so forth.
     
  5. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Bug: If it's not a slow-moving RPG, it's unplayable because of the lag.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. LeomelsonBato
    OP

    Member LeomelsonBato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Philippines
    hmm... ill try to lessen the graphics of the emulator.... but recently i played Megaman 8 with lesser lag....
     
  7. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Another bug: I can't play PS1 without Win2DS running.
    Yet another bug: I have to take my laptop with me if I want to play PS1 games on the go. I get better compatibility and portability if I just get EPSXE and tote my laptop around instead.
     
    2 people like this.
  8. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    My thoughts exactly.
     
  9. LeomelsonBato
    OP

    Member LeomelsonBato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dont recommend ePSXe because it will lag more.... pSX is the best option.... dont worry about the bugs this is only my 1st release,i will will terminate those bugs when i find them...

    Edit: not all laptop or PC can emulate ePSXe... and pSX is more easier to use and no configuration to the people who are new in emulation
     
  10. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    /facepalm

    Until you can fix so that you don't have to sit near your PC/laptop to play a laggy PSX game on the DS then feel free to share otherwise i'm sure most of us prefer to use a PC emulator or a PSP or a real PS1 console.
     
  11. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    My Bad 7-Zip 9.25 is needed to open it.(i had previous version and it would not decompress it)
     
  12. LeomelsonBato
    OP

    Member LeomelsonBato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Philippines
    sorry for the first release.... there's a lot of bug

     
  13. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Can you make this working with snes9x?
     
  14. Rockhoundhigh

    Member Rockhoundhigh Man with a mission

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    Jeez people, talk about critics, it's not like psx will ever be playable on the ds by normal means.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. thiefb0ss

    Member thiefb0ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Is there a PS2 emulator?
     
  16. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Its not like this means is any better if you have to lug your laptop with you just to play a PSX game on your DS.
     
  17. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Easier to use? No configuration?

    All you have to do with ePSXe is choose where your ROMs are, set the controls, and play! I've never had to configure my emulator in more than about two cases, and that was so I could have our Xbox 360 controller configured to it and so I could smooth out some few graphical errors.

    ...except with maybe Final Fantasy 7, but that was because of slowdown because the game was just too epic. I had to switch to the PC version to fix it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Gotta agree with this ePSXe is easier to use.
     
  19. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,732
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    This has nothing to do with the graphics on the emulator. Win2DS on the DS side receives data in form of screenshots over Wi-Fi - there is only so much bandwidth that can be dedicated for it. In other words, on the PC side, Win2DS creates a screenshot. Next, it scales it to a desired and pre-determined size. Then it sends it over the Internet or LAN to the DS. There, the DS processes the data and draws it pixel by pixel onto a Bitmap layer, which in itself is slow. At the same time, it checks for user input such as stylus movement or buttons input. Then, it sends this info via, again, the Internet or LAN to the PC. The PC interprets this input as keyboard presses or mouse movement/mouse presses.

    All in all, you have a constant exchange of information. While on the PC side it's quite quick and doesn't cause issues, on the DS side, printing the pixels on a Bitmap is relatively slow, not to mention post-processing of the recieved image to even fit the screen by zooming and so on and so forth.

    Practically to make this work, the PSX emulator would have to work in a non-standard resolution of 256x192, which is the native DS screen, preferably in 256 colours mode, Win2DS would have to be forced to grab only that window, for example by changing the screen resolution of the PC what in turn will cause a *horrible mess*. All in all, this has no real chances of working correctly and has nothing to do with "emulation" on the DS, as the emulation part is done on the PC. The issue here is the speed at which the DS draws onto the Bitmap and the speed at which it receives data over LAN/WAN.

    There is a reason why most cutscenes on the DS are filmed in 30 FPS and with horrible quality - the process is slow from FAT, let alone from Wi-Fi.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow, summed up perfectly Foxi4 :yay:
     

Share This Page