Platnium Migration W/ M3 GBA Expansion

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by DaRealChrono, Apr 10, 2009.

Apr 10, 2009
  1. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I'll repeat this once again. NOT on an EZ FLash 3-in-1, on the M3 GBA Expansion pack...Just to be extra clear, I'm using a M3 GBA Expansion Pack, NOT a EZ Flash, so don't post fixes that only apply to the EZ Flash...

    Anyways, I just beat Platinum and was looking forward to migrating some Pokemon over to from my Leaf Green rom, and it seems Platinum isn't recognizing the rom through the linkage. I find that strange, considering that when I attempted migration through Pal Park on my Pearl rom, which was a clean rom, it worked flawlessly.

    Yes I have the National Dex, and my Platinum rom is linked to my Leaf Green rom. So what is it that's going on? How can the migration work between Diamond and Pearl and not Platinum? Is there a way to fix this? Am I just doing something wrong?
     
  2. PGdude

    Newcomer PGdude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure about this, but are the roms from the same region? I'm unsure if this has an effect but the suggestion is there. (Likely to be incorrect)


    A last resort could be to put it into Pearl, and trade with someone, and then trade into Platinum...?
     
  3. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, their the same region.

    I don't have two DS, so it's oh wells I guess...
     
  4. mistwolf

    Newcomer mistwolf Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, it doesn't work at this point, but I hope it will be fixed in a path or two, if we are lucky! I don't want to migrate from the old games, as I haven't played them, but I .would. like to catch the insertion-only pokemon.
     
  5. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I don't care for bumping old topics, but felt no need for another thread...

    Any updates on this?
     
  6. mistwolf

    Newcomer mistwolf Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Australia
    Nope. Still broken, still unlikely to be fixed, alas.
     
  7. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to check up on this, it's been a while since I've updated my DS (let alone played it).

    Now that 1.41 is out, has this been addressed? I declare I don't understand how this could potentially still be a problem when the Pal Park works just fine between roms for Diamond and Pearl.
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,809
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The M3 Real/zero slot1 has a built in migration program for pokemon. In the interface game config is the setting for transfering it.

    If your trying to import it to a legit game from the M3 GEP, your out of luck because the M3 GEP is a SDRAM device and can't store a game after you turn off the DS. The SDRAM is the same as the PSRAM mode for a 3in1.
     
  9. dhjohn

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not positive, but I believe the reason it doesn't work is because the Diamond/Pearl/Platinum has to be patched to work with sram instead of the save type the gba pokemon games use. A patch has been written for Diamond and Pearl, but last time I looked, there is not one for Platinum yet.
    The m3 simply applies the patches to the games when they are run (and then only when they are linked I assume). So until someone fixes Platinum, and the m3 team integrates it in the loader, it won't work.

    Again, I am not positive on this, but it is what I have gathered from other threads on the migrating issues.

    ~dhjohn
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,809
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It is the same function for platinum.
     
  11. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    how_do_i_do_that, you confused me a little. Is this a new feature? I've seen the GBA linking feature, but nothing specific for Pokemon.

    I'm using all roms, and all clean with the M3 GBA Expansion. I haven't tried the migration on 1.41, but I know on 1.36 it doesn't work. I was just wondering if it does now.

    dhjohn, with the M3 Expansion, migration works with clean roms for Diamond and Pearl, which is why I said I don't understand how it doesn't work for Platinum.
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,809
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thier whole setup is geared around doing pokemon, you must be blind or something. Who else would put RTS and RTC capabilities in a GEP and integrate migration capabilities into the M3 slot1?
     
  13. mistwolf

    Newcomer mistwolf Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Australia

    So have you actually tried it?

    I have yet to get this feature to work in Platinum. It works just fine in Diamond and Pearl, but NOT Platinum. It's well and good to say 'They put in game link for this', but that hardly means it is perfect.
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,809
    Country:
    Antarctica
    yes it is found in the game settings, it shows up as nds-gba link button.
     
  15. DaRealChrono
    OP

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Blah, guess I'll just have to keep waiting.
     

Share This Page