Hacking Planning on getting just a 2DS

DavGerm4

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Since the hacking of the 9 firmware, I've been thinking of getting just a 2DS for now, until the new 3DS comes out in the states. I just had a few questions, I know i'm a noob with the 3DS, but it's only because I'm busy in the Xbox Scene.

Anyway, If I get a 2DS, will any of the new ones ship with a newer firmware that isn't known about yet? Like they have these 2 versions available around thanksgiving that are only $99, so I was planning on just picking up one of them. Also, from my understanding the NINJAHAX works with just homebrew correct? Or does it allow for games to be played off of SD Card, or something similar?

And then, since I've read mostly about the Sky3DS card, should I just wait and get a Gateway, because they are a load cheaper?

Thanks for the help!

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
Yeah you should buy a 2DS now and update it to 9.2 and wait until Gateway team reveals what they have in store for firmware 9.2.
I don't recommend spending money on Sky3DS because I'm pretty sure Gateway is better in every aspect. (it also costs less)

Ninjhax plays only homebrew, not roms.

rdurbin

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
gateway wont currently work on a 2ds. They did announce they are gonna add support for newer firmwares but I would wait (on getting gateway) until that happens. Gateway currently doesnt work on frimware past 4.5 and 2ds starts at minimum of 6. You can however use a regular ds flash cart, I like the dstwo by far for this. Currently ninjahax only works for homebrew, they could change or may never change. Sky3DS will work on your 2ds but it only supports 10 games and you cannot change the games so once your write your games you are pretty much stuck with them.

normally I would say get 3dsxl instead of 2ds (im not a fan on its tablet like design aka non folding) but as you said the new 3ds is around the corner...