Homebrew RELEASE ovl-sysmodules - A Tesla Overlay to toggle Sysmodules

WerWolv

EdiZon and Tesla Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
252
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,818
Country
Switzerland
ovl-sysmodules

A Tesla overlay that allows you to toggle your sysmodules at any time
What is this?

A Overlay made for Tesla that can enable and disable other sysmodules (like sys-ftpd, emuiibo, sys-con, sys-clk, etc.).


Screenshots
20200203_124214.jpg


Installation

Make sure you already have Tesla running!
Download the .ovl file from the GitHub Repository and drop it into the /switch/.overlays folder on your Switch's SD card.
Open Tesla and select the Sysmodules item.

To detect sysmodules, ovl-sysmodules uses the same system as the Kosmos Toolbox. It looks for toolbox.json files in your /atmosphere/contents/<ProgramID> folders. If your sysmodule doesn't come with one, tell it's developer to add it!

Download

Tesla: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tesla-the-nintendo-switch-overlay-menu.557362/
ovl-sysmodules: https://github.com/WerWolv/ovl-sysmodules/releases/latest


GitHub
ovl-sysmodules: https://github.com/WerWolv/ovl-sysmodules


Obligatory Donation links

PayPal: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/werwolv
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

octopus

Custom Title
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
412
Trophies
0
Location
/
XP
1,290
Country
Somalia
Strangely enough only 3 out of 9 modules are displayed (all of them have toolbox.json) and loading is quite slow, experienced some crashes along the way while I was deleting other olv-modules to find the culprit. I attached crash reports.
 

Attachments

  • crash_reports.zip
    16 KB · Views: 174
Last edited by octopus,

octopus

Custom Title
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
412
Trophies
0
Location
/
XP
1,290
Country
Somalia
There's no toolbox.json there by default. We're gonna add those though to the next Kosmos release so everything's gonna work out of the box there
As I said earlier only some of the sysmodules are shown in the overlay. I have made toolbox.json for every module I have (9 at the moment), they show up in Toolbox, but only three of them show up in this overlay: sys-con, sys-ftpd, sys-clk. I checked folder permissions, toolbox.json permissions and they all are the same for those that show up and for those that don't. The length of the name / requires_reboot is not the issue either. I even deleted all the crap from the /contents besides atmosphere files and sysmodules and they still won't show up. I'm kinda baffled here. Any ideas?

And also iteration through the contents of /contents takes some time on my unit every time this overlay is run. There are a lot of folders with cheats. Maybe you would consider adding a cache file (append to one .json and read from it) and a rescan option (delete existing .json and recreate it) so it won't be so slow.
 
Last edited by octopus,

EddCase

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
Visit site
XP
831
Country
- emuiibo : 0100000000000352

- sys-con : 690000000000000D

- sys-ftpd-light : 420000000000000E

- sys-clk : 00FF0000636C6BFF

- ldn_mitm : 4200000000000010

I made these for myself the other day I suppose I should share. extract to atmosphere\contents they only include the toolbox.json so you'll need to get the sys modules as well

Edit:
I've updated both emuiibo and ldn_mitm as commented by WerWolv below
 

Attachments

  • ftpd-light - 420000000000000E.zip
    411 bytes · Views: 298
  • sys-clk - 00FF0000636C6BFF.zip
    417 bytes · Views: 382
  • sys-con - 690000000000000D.zip
    408 bytes · Views: 266
  • emuiibo - 0100000000000352.zip
    409 bytes · Views: 323
  • ldn_mitm - 4200000000000010.zip
    409 bytes · Views: 271
Last edited by EddCase,

WerWolv

EdiZon and Tesla Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
252
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,818
Country
Switzerland
I made these for myself the other day I suppose I should share. extract to atmosphere\contents they only include the toolbox.json so you'll need to get the sys modules as well

Great! Out of these 5 only sys-ftpd, sys-clk and sys-con will work properly as emuiibo and ldn-mitm are mitm sysmodules and require a reboot in between

Edit: Seeing that you set the requires_reboot flag to false for both of them, this is going to cause issues. They are not supposed to get late-loaded by either the Kosmos Toolbox nor this overlay here
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,347
Country
Chile
I made these for myself the other day I suppose I should share. extract to atmosphere\contents they only include the toolbox.json so you'll need to get the sys modules as well

Edit:
I've updated both emuiibo and ldn_mitm as commented by WerWolv below
I extrated them to their folders in contents but don't appear in tesla menu, do still need the .ovl file? where do I get the .ovl files?
 

EddCase

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
Visit site
XP
831
Country
I extrated them to their folders in contents but don't appear in tesla menu, do still need the .ovl file? where do I get the .ovl files?

they only include the toolbox.json so you'll need to get the sys modules as well

You need to install Tesla, The OVL file from the first post in this thread and the sys-modules as well. I posted in the original posting the zip files only include the toolbox.json

if you need the sys-modules I suggest you look at the hb-appstore as the easist way to install them.
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,347
Country
Chile
You need to install Tesla, The OVL file from the first post in this thread and the sys-modules as well. I posted in the original posting the zip files only include the toolbox.json

if you need the sys-modules I suggest you look at the hb-appstore as the easist way to install them.
My folder structure for sys-clk for example:
Code:
atmosphere/contents/00FF0000636C6BFF/flags/boot2.flag
                                    /.DS_Store
                                    /exefs.nsp
                                    /toolbox.json

On apps side:
Code:
switch/.overlays/ovlEdiZon.ovl
                /ovlmenu.ovl

When I bring the overlay up with L+LStick press+D-Pad down, it only display Edizon...
I don't use kosmos btw
 
Last edited by cucholix,

WerWolv

EdiZon and Tesla Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
252
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,818
Country
Switzerland
My folder structure for sys-clk for example:
Code:
atmosphere/contents/flags/boot2.flag
                   /.DS_Store
                   /exefs.nsp
                   /toolbox.json

On apps side:
Code:
switch/.overlays/ovlEdiZon.ovl
                /ovlmenu.ovl

When I bring the overlay up with L+LStick press+D-Pad down, it only display Edizon...

Because you don't have this overlay here installed. ovlmenu.ovl is the overlay selector that opens by default
 

WerWolv

EdiZon and Tesla Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
252
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,818
Country
Switzerland
That's my question, where do I get sys-clk, sys-ftpd .ovl files?
There is none. Get the latest release of this overlay, install it and when you have the toolbox.json files there, you'll be able to toggle them. You don't need an overlay for every single sysmodule
 

EddCase

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
Visit site
XP
831
Country
My folder structure for sys-clk for example:
Code:
atmosphere/contents/00FF0000636C6BFF/flags/boot2.flag
                                               /.DS_Store
                                               /exefs.nsp
                                               /toolbox.json

On apps side:
Code:
switch/.overlays/ovlEdiZon.ovl
                /ovlmenu.ovl

When I bring the overlay up with L+LStick press+D-Pad down, it only display Edizon...
I don't use kosmos btw

You need the ovl-sysmodules from the first post in this thread I suggest you re-read the whole post

 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We have layaway
    Gift
  • SAIYAN48 @ SAIYAN48:
    what's with muricans
    and their guns?
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Stereotype
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    215 shootings in the US just this year, according to the BBC
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    That's almost a shooting per month in each state
    +1
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nice improvement
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    dangerously close to buying a miyoo mini :/
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I was just looking at those the other day
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But $50 could get a retroid that does some ps2
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    $50 more*
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Then $100 more added to that $100 could get you an Odin 🤷‍♂️
    Gift
  • Noctosphere @ Noctosphere:
    I want a gun to kill all
    guns, then make this gun commit suicide
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    60 bucks is pretty good deal, i mainly play gba and gb anyway
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    using a gb micro and v1 gb sp, be nice to get a bigger brighter screen
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I still like my powkiddy v90
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    got tempted by that too, and mainly the ambernic woodgrain gameboy, almost bought that
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Powkiddy quality control is pretty trash and software glitchy but the screes nice
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The ANBERNIC RG280V looks nice
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    i like the v90, i dig clamshells, love my sp but it's the old version with the dull-ass screen
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    and my micro has a sharp screen but it's tiny and i have old person eyes
    Gift
  • M @ MrWhosHacking:
    i need help with my switch can anyone help me
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Saw powkiddy.com had the on sale for $35
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Retroid Pocket 2+ is great value for money, $99, it's still in the "budget" range somewhat but it has a nice large screen and can run a whole lot of platforms.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Myoo Mini is cyoot, but mini :P
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The Funkey S is even cuter and mini-er :tpi:
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: The Funkey S is even cuter and mini-er :tpi: