1. suprneb

    OP suprneb GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    so ive been using an r4 since way back when, and im sure that its not a clone (because i got it before these new r4 clones were introduced? not sure if that means anything though)

    but basically, with all this recent news about AP and the fact that ysmenu seems to be really popular for the new r4 clones because it has some built-in fixes for some games, does that mean i should install ysmenu on my old r4?
     
  2. Prime_Zero

    Prime_Zero GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Country:
    United States
    From what ive learned your far better off with Ysmenu than the original firmware, but I chose not to sense you can't change the skin's on Ysmenu your stuck with what they give you and I like my Stargate atlantis skin to much to lose it. You might be better off updating to a new card like the Acekard2i or anther of your choosing but not every one has the money for that these days. xD
     
  3. Mantis41

    Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Country:
    United States
    I would only update to YSmenu if you have a ROM that won't run on the orig firmware. YSmenu can be a finicky pain in the ass to install properly.
     
  4. suprneb

    OP suprneb GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    are there any roms that are known to be not working on the original firmware?
     
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,931
    Country:
    United States
    There are more games than I can remember that do not work with 1.18 but work with YSMenu. I don't know what Mantis41 is talking about. Use YSMenu. There's no reason not to.
     
  6. supersonic90

    supersonic90 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Ysmenu is the only way to go for r4 now. I've used ys for almost 2 years. You can skin it and its not hard to install. Simply use r4ysauto which can be found in the downloads section here. The newest one says r4ysauto + dsttv1.17a12. The instructions that come with it are very easy to follow.
     
  7. Dark^'^Knigh

    Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Country:
    I have an old original R4DS that I still use from time to time. It must have been about 1.5 yrs ago when I personally had had enough of having to do the Arm7.bin fix on a lot of new releases. It is still setup as: R4DS 1.18 firmware boots from games icon / YSmenu (using the latest unofficial v1.17.a12) boots from Multimedia icon (replaced Moonshell).
    You get to retain the look & feel (gui) of the R4 themes, but gain the added game compatibilty of YSmenu.

    Whether you did that, or simply have YSmenu as a standalone, you will be much better off than having v1.18 (final update issued April 2008!).
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - original, clone),