OnLive dropping monthly fee

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Guild McCommunist, Oct 5, 2010.

Oct 5, 2010
  1. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    After extending the signup deadline for the "Founder's Club" promotion that gave users a full year free, OnLive has opted to ditch membership fees entirely.

    OnLive founder Steve Perlman wrote in the service's official blog, "Although we wish we could have confirmed no monthly fee from the get-go, pioneering a major new video game paradigm is hard: we had to first grow to a large base of regular users before we could understand usage patterns and operating costs."

    OnLive has apparently reached that point though, which Perlman says deserves a "double WOOT! WOOT!"

    A "Full PlayPass" to a game still costs about as much as a regular game, but now OnLive's service plan is roughly equivalent to Steam. However, OnLive also offers 3 and 5-day passes to games in addition to free demos.

    In addition to cutting membership fees, OnLive is also offering a free trial program that will allow users to access the service without having to enter a credit card number. Credit cards will be needed if you opt to buy a 3-day, 5-day or Full PlayPass though.

    Going forward, OnLive is also promising better video quality and lower latentcy. The MicroConsole TV Adapters and gamepads are also in manufacturing now though, which suggests that they may make the holidays as well.[/p]

    [​IMG] Source

    Being a wannabe computer gamer but with a meh computer that can't do much gaming outside of some Source engine games, OnLive always seemed somewhat appealing. Maybe this is a good reason to try, although I need to wire my computer first.
     


  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Meh. I like Steam. [​IMG]


    Also, broken source.
     
  3. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, thought I put it in there but I guess not.

    The difference is that OnLive allows you to play games with high system requirements without the need for a high spec system. Only problem is lag and that you need a constant internet connection to play games. That's what I thought at least.
     
  4. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    WAIT.


    You STREAM the games? Wow, never mind.


    I think I might get this. Crysis, ahoy!
     
  5. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Mind you this is far from perfect. There will probably always be delay between your actions at home and what gets shown to you. And a wired internet connection is pretty much a must, even if/when wireless is supported.
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Bandwidth.
    I only get 60GB.
    As much as I would like to use this, I can't thanks to shitty Canadian ISP's.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh...


    Well, back to Steam! [​IMG]
     
  8. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    i just can't buy into cloud computing.

    and is a double woot woot = woot woot woot woot?
     
  9. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it, and I'm amazed. My PC is shit, but I can play games like Batman: AA and Borderlands. I have no idea how my PC can run those games. My PC has a Intel Celeron 1.6GHZ processor, 1GB RAM and 64MB VRAM. Can someone explain to me how this is possible?
     
  10. Rasas

    Banned Rasas Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    Your computer isn't running the game. It is running from another location in which you get to control and play certain games.
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    basically that, all of your inputs are sent over the internet to servers, which spit back video/audio to your computer
     
  12. NDStemp

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I'ma try this, seems awesome.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    still a waste of $ only a very small number of peeps (prob all china) will be using this cos not every1 has unlimited bw! i can tell you now no one in australia will be using this so they might as well not even bring it here. also i dont care what they say there is going to be lagg..
     
  14. gameboy13

    Member gameboy13 Orange and fluffy since 1995.

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    The Fur Side.
    Country:
    United States
    I might just have to try this sometime. The thing is, I have an awesome computer and I like Steam. Maybe I'll try it when they get more games.
     
  15. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    i was thinking the same ...
    there are other ISPs that have unlimited DL and UL but like ... they suck -_- .
     
  16. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you use onlive in the UK?
    we're upgrading to 50mb/s today and I guess I could try it.
     
  17. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    Just tried it. its awesome if you have a shitty PC and a good net connection. graphical glitches here and there but playable. didnt notice any lag.
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    OnLive has apparently reached that point though, which Perlman says deserves a "double WOOT! WOOT!"[/p]Okay, that's just embarrassing.

    With my crappy DSL connection it'll likely not run for me, too lazy to try.
     
  19. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    On a slightly different note, is there any programs which kinda do this already? I was wanting to play some emulator games with my brother (we usually play RPGs with half the characters one and the other half the other's). All I'd have to do is stream his display over to mine and be able to have keyboard input on his computer from mine.
     
  20. KevInChester

    Member KevInChester GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For those with slower or limited connections I recommend:
     

Share This Page