OMG HELP HELP HELP!!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by vergilite, Mar 1, 2010.

Mar 1, 2010

OMG HELP HELP HELP!! by vergilite at 11:13 PM (1,352 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so i have a compaq presario desktop and i tried to install windows xp by using the original setup disc, i then preceded to delete all my partitions and start the disc but in the partition stage (on txt setup) it showed four "unknown drives" and every time i presses "enter" to continue id get a blue screen [​IMG].

    so since i recently moved my connections around on my mother board to hook up a friends ps3 hard drive for fixing, i checked the connections and they seemed fine but still no look so i moved the connection around and now when i switch on the computer it just hangs on the boot screen (not even reaching bios and is completely unresponsive to commands) [​IMG] now every time i switch it on it just hangs at the screen where it gives you the choice to press F10, F11 etc and it doesn't register any button presses [​IMG] HELP!!

    .could i have got the connections wrong with the hard drive
    .could i have broke the bios in which case does anyone know how to flash it

    plz help its the family computer >_>
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    1 - A blue screen is an error message, next time google the error to find how to fix it.

    2 - Does it work if you disconnect the harddrives?

    3 - What model compaq is it?
     
  3. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. thx i shall EDIT: oh it doesn't reach the blue screen anymore just hangs on the boot logo
    2. with the hard drives disconnected it still hangs
    3.Compaq Presario SR2125UK Desktop PC

    thx again im pretty sure i broke the bios >_
     
  4. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bump D:
     
  5. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so for bumping so much buts its an emergency :|
     
  6. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    1) CHILL OUTTTTTTTTT I have complete faith that the Tempers here WILL solve your problem.

    2) Is the drive formatted? Obviously you can't install an OS on unallocated space. Grab a GParted LiveCD to partition a drive as NTFS.

    3) Grab a fast-shot camera and find that blue screen, write it down or take a picture of that error message. That would help us determine the problem. (If it ever appears again)

    4) You could reflash the BIOS if you wanted to but here's the thing. If its unresponsive to commands you either, really did break the BIOS, or something is wrong with your keyboard. I doubt its your keyboard cuz then youd get a POST message saying, "KEYBOARD NOT DETECTED" and itll refuse to boot.

    I found the BIOS update for your motherboard, if youd like I can post it but idk what good it'll do since its a BIOS Update and not the original BIOS. And its an executable to in order to perform the update, you'll need the operating system running. This is why I HATE HP/Compaq. Always build your own computer. Try clearing the CMOS.
     
  7. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put the connection's back....get a Linux or some other boot disk with partitioning progs on it and start again.

    Sounds like you created a new partion table without formatting, or now this bios is mistaken after you manually changed it... and Win XP doesn't have a clue what you have.
     
  8. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thx guys you helped a lot and in the end it turns out i reset the bios default settings so i just had to change the setting to ati or something (cant remember) from RAID and it recognized my hard drive [​IMG], installing XP now [​IMG] WoW here i come [​IMG]

    sorry again guys for flipping out *few* but its fixed now and iv learn t a lot in fixing it so im chuffed [​IMG]
     
  9. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    Best lesson you can learn from this: do not buy Compaq unless you want them to fuck you up the ass. Low quality components for a premium price.
     
  10. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    100% true. Same thing goes for HP. Their computers are great its just that if you ever need anything hardware related, like drivers or the BIOS dump or anything like that, HP/Compaq will fuck you over. They also install the most bloatware out any computer I've ever used. Happened with my old HP a6600f. My BIOS settings were restricted to barely anything so I couldn't do what I wanted with it. If you have to buy a prebuilt computer, buy from ASUS, Acer, or Lenovo. Other than that, build it yourself. So much better.
     
  11. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    Broke the bios? lol. you can try removing the cmos battery and resetting it all.

    if its blue-screening during set-up or bootup i wouldn't bother. chances are the motherboard is gone. time for a new one.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    ... except that in this case the problem was his XP disc not recognizing drives using an SCSI interface ('cause of the RAID controller setting), not anything to do with Compaq at all.

    You could buy a $5000 Sony VAIO tomorrow and try to install an XP SP1 (or no SP slipstreamed) disc on it, and if it's set to use raid or the motherboard's drive controller isn't put into legacy/compatibility mode you'll hit the exact same issue, unless you slipstream the SCSI/SATA controller drivers into the disc via Nlite.

    This was actually a common problem back when people were buying new machines with Vista and trying to use their old XP discs on it.
     
  13. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Ugh... I remember this well. If you didn't have have the driver slipstreamed onto the cd, you have to press an f key to load it from a disk. Problem is the disk it asked for was a floppy. On most computers they were being phased out. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page