OK, bigger problem ...

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by The_Dark_Knight, Apr 15, 2010.

Apr 15, 2010

OK, bigger problem ... by The_Dark_Knight at 5:43 AM (1,101 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Hi gang,

    So, if you've been following my drama in the other thread you'd see that I couldn't get WarioWare DIY to save (or in some cases, even load).

    Well, in the process of trying to fix that issue I updated my AKAIO and a loader file.

    I got tired of WarioWare failing so I decided to move on to Pokemon Soul Silver.

    What a surprise, that won't save either. (well, mind you, it says it's saving, but when I go to boot up again the games think they have never seen me before).

    So then I decided I'd play something simple like the Sonic Classic Collection. that seems to save, but it keeps freezing on me and the music keeps freaking out.

    At this point I decided to check some of the tried and true games that I've played for ages like Mario Kart DS .... oh dandy, it doesn't think I've played it before either!!

    Scribblenauts? Scribble-NADA!!

    I've got all my important save files backed up ... but at this point I'm too scared to even try booting up games like Pokemon Platinum or Prof Layton.

    So I guess my question is: *on knees, begging to the skies* WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON AND HOW DO I FIX IT!?

    Please help? ... please?
     
  2. Njrg

    Banned Njrg Kinsoku Jikou Desu. ^.~

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    United States
    Step 1. Stop being a dummy you dummy. You're being a dummy and its making you dumb.
    Step 2. Copy all files from your SD Card to a folder on your Desktop.
    Step 3. Format Card.
    Step 4. Put latest firmware on SD card and run it on cart (Skip if you're using latest)+(Might have to Downgrade/reupgrade)
    Step 5. Copy all data back over to SD card and delete all your corrupted saves. (Pokemon sometimes saves corruption)
    Step 6. Reload WarioWare and wait a minute or two for it to load. It usually takes awhile to start up the 1st time because the save file IS FUCKING 32 MEGABYTES. So take the amount of time it normally takes your card to create a standard 512kb save file and multiply that time 64 times and you'll get the amount of time you must wait for the WarioWare save to finish.
    Step 7. Thank Njrg.

    Don't delete your backed up data after copying back to the card, in an event you fuck something up, you're going to be glad all your files are still on your PC's Desktop. It also never hurts to delete your flashcart's personal settings files themselves (They'll be freshly recreated when you re-boot it)

    Also I'm not Mod, but I think you should have posted this in here.
     
  3. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    well... I tried all that and no dice ....

    I think I might be able to make NEW saves now because I loaded MarioKart and after it found no data, I loaded it a 2nd time and it least it knew I had already loaded it once before. So that's SOME progress.

    However, Pokemon SS won't go past the "enter your name" screen (freezes on black screen), WarioWare won't load up (my counter has just reached 9 minutes of waiting ....) and the Sonic Collection is still a buggy mess until it freezes after about 5 mins.

    .... so apparently I am still a dummy being dumb. =(
     
  4. Njrg

    Banned Njrg Kinsoku Jikou Desu. ^.~

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    United States
    Well formatting is usually the last resort problem solver for all flashcarts.

    Here's my last suggestion as unnecessary as some of the steps may sound.

    You should know a few things. By clean rom I mean a rom thats unaltered. No patched roms, no trimmed roms.
    And this is going to sound stupid, but we're going to assume that all your current roms are corrupted.
    If by any means you cannot get through a step because of a corruption issue, then we're going to assume your flashcart is ruined, and will ruin any game you attempt to play. Some flashcarts have Reset features that force them to go back to factory firmware and conditions, however that info will be on your flashcart's site, so go bug them about it. So this may not be your last chance, but this will be my final advice. Its up to you to skip step 3 because its waaaay unnecessary. Its just one of those desperate "you never know" moments I have. There have been many times I gave what would be hopeless advice that actually turned out to work when it came to software.

    Step 1. Backup Save files. (Should already have done so)
    Step 2. Format Card.
    Step 3. Downgrade Firmware to the 2nd most recent Stable firmware (Not Beta if your flashcart has any).
    Step 4. Upgrade to the most recent stable firmware.
    Step 5. Format Card again (Why the hell not)
    Step 6. Copy a clean rom to your card for testing. Try to pick a game that hasn't been too recent like Rom# 4500 or lower.
    Step 8. Load a clean rom of WarioWare. If you think the Wario you got from your source was a bad dump, then find a new source or try the Japanese version.
    Step. 9. Turn off all/any of your Cart's Features. Disable Cheat devices, Real Time Saves, ect... (I have a Cyclo, sometimes when a game doesn't work for me, I'll turn off a feature and the game will work.)
    Step. 10. Get that WarioWare save. WarioWare was the cause of all your problems so you need to get this rom working by all costs. Getting this game stable and working is #1 priority.
    Step. 11. Skip Step 10 if you think WarioWare just isn't worth it (Because it really isn't).
    Step. 12. Put back all the saves back on SD Card.
    Step. 13. Replace all current Roms with clean Roms.
    Step. 14. There is no Step 7.
    Step. 15 If all else fails, buy a Cyclo like you should have done in the 1st place, you Jew. (Assuming you're still using DSLite or older)
     
  5. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    you get massive points for just being hilarious.

    anyway, I did take this thread over to here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=221155

    as you can see, I've gotten to the point where I can play my old saves on the latest firmware AND it seems that I can make new saves for newer games (like Pokemon SS), HOWEVER!

    I still can't get WarioWare to load up .... so! I think I will do just that and look for a new rom.

    I'll post here again if I can't get it to work after a few days.

    Thanks so much for all your effort!!
     
  6. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    You need a name change [​IMG] Whatta ya think about "The_Dim_Knight" ?
    It might be a bit more appropriate for you and save some confusion on this forum. [​IMG]
     
  7. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    anywho...

    so I tried your suggestion of getting a new ROM and an untrimmed verison.

    whaddya know!? it infected my firmware!

    so I had to start allll over. luckily I kinda knew what I did so was able to get (most) of my old games back up and running ... still no luck on WarioWare, but now Pokemon SS won't save again!!!

    I don't know what (of the many things I did earlier) fixed that issue ..... blerg.
     
  8. Njrg

    Banned Njrg Kinsoku Jikou Desu. ^.~

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    United States
    Well method 2 was pretty much "Clean Slate" method so if that failed, then the only thing I have to say is you got what you paid for.
     
  9. GolenSun550

    Member GolenSun550 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    far away from you
    Country:
    United States
    haha , naked on knees
     
  10. WarazX

    Banned WarazX Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    haha wtf... [​IMG]
     
  11. alukadoo

    Member alukadoo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    far away from you..
    Country:
    United States
    Seems very complicated [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  12. Dark Blade

    Member Dark Blade Flippin' Insane

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Inside a Pokeball.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Drop kick that card in the bin.
     
  13. WarazX

    Banned WarazX Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Thats because, it is complicated.
     
  14. The_Dark_Knight
    OP

    Member The_Dark_Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my current status is that old game saves seem to be back online.

    Saves for newer games write just fine but sometimes they don't load up and I have to reset in order to get them to load.

    And WarioWare still won't even load up (I've let it sit more than 20 minutes).

    Using: DS Lite, AKAIO 1.6RC2 and yes, I set WarioWare's save file to be 256MB.
     

Share This Page