Nunchuck failure, counterfeit or bad luck?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by kokotas, Jul 16, 2014.

1. kokotas
    OP

kokotas Member

Newcomer
    Oct 7, 2008
    Greece
    So I bought this nunchuck along with my wiimote plus about two months ago. I hadn't used it much until recently, when I started playing Zelda TP. After 30 hours or so of playing the game starting acting up. The cursor was getting stuck and drifting away on its own at the edge of the screen. After resynching the problem usually went away but recently it's been getting worse, until the wiimote stopped recognizing the nunchuck altogether.

Seeing how it only lasted for a few hours of gaming, it made me doubt its genuineness. So here are a few pictures:

Warning: Spoilers inside!

1st: Color difference between parts on the boxes.
    2nd: Seal of approval on the nunchuck box bears a "registered symbol" ® next to nintendo logo
    3rd: Maybe not visible in the photos, but the nunchuck picture on the box is blurry and not as well refined as the wiimote's.
    4th: And what about the silocone used to insulate the wires? I haven't seen a picture of another nuchuck circuit board like this one.

(Don't mind the cut wires... I was trying to fix it, resoldering etc but I only got as far as making wiimote recognize the nunchuck again, controls were dead orz)

So what do you guys think? Am I being paranoid or it could really be a counterfeit?

2. WiiCube_2013

WiiCube_2013 GBAtemp Guru

Oct 19, 2013
    Gaza Strip
    Where'd you buy this and how long is the warranty for? 3 months?

You're saying you've been using it for two months so you can still return it because it's faulty.

3. kokotas
    OP

kokotas Member

Newcomer
    Oct 7, 2008
    Greece