ntsc and pal question

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by tredes, Apr 27, 2008.

Apr 27, 2008

ntsc and pal question by tredes at 2:54 AM (1,231 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. tredes
    OP

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok i live in aus so i obvoiusly have a pal wii.

    My mum is in bali in the moment so she is buying cheap copied wii and GC games, and i have a feeling there going to be ntsc. Would i have to change the region to run them, or will they work without anyt adjustments as my wii is 3.2E firmware.

    Thanks. & btw i have d2ckey
     
  2. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Your chip should have regionfree built into it I think, otherwise you can just download the freeloader and use that to play the games if they don't work.
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Most games should work fine. Use GCOS for GC games if neccessary and freeloader for Wii games.
     
  4. tredes
    OP

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    so theres no real risk in playing them as i already have the latest firmware?

    thanks guys...hopefully it goes ok
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    there is no risk in playing the GC games.
    But the Wii games, be more careful, as a wrong update may (semi-)brick your wii. Your 3.2E firmware should be able to run most of the games. However, some games contain a small update they always want to install, regardless of the firmware version. The version number also doesn't change after the update.
     
  6. tredes
    OP

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    mmm its a bit scary actually. I mite use freeloader on them to be certian...

    Thanks
     
  7. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    I ran the NTSC-U Brawl update on my 3.2E Wii (retail version so I couldn't trucha sign) and got duplicate channels (which I moved) but every NTSC-U game works as long as it was before the 3.2U update. Might help if the freeloader trick doesn't work out well for you.
     
  8. tredes
    OP

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    yeh i did the same thing with ssbb, i got dup channels but i jus moved them to the end of the list. Mite try channel remover sumtime.

    Thanks mate, u wouldnt know if bali games are pal or ntsc would you?
     
  9. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Well you mentioned that they were copied games so I'd probably say they're likely to by ntsc, seeing as they usually come out in ntsc regions first. It won't really make a big difference anyway
     
  10. tredes
    OP

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    wat would be the biggest risk?? could i fully brick my wii?? or will it be a semi brick??

    and do games ask for the update? or does it automaticly install??

    i want to be sure before i go and fuck something up...
     
  11. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    When games want to update they will prompt you saying they want to update when you load them, you press 'ok' at it begins. If you want to quit it then just turn off your wii. (Most) Games with no updates should run fine regardless of region anyway with a chip/freeloader

    Look in the hacking forum and search for the game you want to play to see if there are any issues with it, usually the freeloader double load will get around the update.
     
  12. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    You probably would only semi brick your wii or get double channels if you took the wrong update. The two most common games with updates are Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Mario Kart Wii.
     

Share This Page