Nostalgia question

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Jiro2, May 13, 2011.

May 13, 2011

Nostalgia question by Jiro2 at 5:16 PM (1,350 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Jiro2
    OP

    Member Jiro2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Country:
    United States
    Supposedly, Nostalgia has the "Albion glitch", where in some versions of the game you can't fight a boss, and this glitch affects the entire game so there's nothing you can do except exchange it for another copy of the game.

    Yet it seems that there's only one version of the game that's ever been dumped.

    Does anyone know what the deal is with this glitch?
     
  2. DarkestHour00

    Newcomer DarkestHour00 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I've been playing it using a Acekard 2i with no problems.
     
  3. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    never heard of that glitch

    maybe its just a copy protection ?
     
  4. Jiro2
    OP

    Member Jiro2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Country:
    United States
    If you Google it you get several references, for instance http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/950323-nostalgia/52017446 and http://www.gamespot.com/ds/action/nostalgi...id=m-1-52023909 as well as one person reporting it here: http://gbatemp.net/t188541-nostalgia-u-hel...;p=2362855& . It does turn up even when using original carts.

    Some people claim that the only way to fix it is to get a new copy of the game, which would imply there are two ROMs that need to be dumped. I have no idea if this is true, however.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    From the answers, the scene dump is the non-glitched one.
    Why would you want them to dump the one that doesn't work?
     
  6. Jiro2
    OP

    Member Jiro2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    749
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to figure out if there really is such a thing as a glitched version, for one thing: one of the people reporting the problem did so here, which means there's a good chance he was using a flash cart. If he was, the conventional wisdom is wrong and there isn't a glitched and a good version at all.

    If someone had a glitched version dump and a regular dump that would prove once and for all that there are two versions.
     

Share This Page