Noob question

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by rockstar99, Nov 4, 2011.

Nov 4, 2011

Noob question by rockstar99 at 7:13 AM (441 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. rockstar99
    OP

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    My computer has a good processor and everything...Cant play some games because of some shit like pixel shader 3.0.All I need is to upgrade my gfx card and I'm good to go?
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Upgrade the graphics card whilst double checking the wattage rating of the power supply. E.g. you don't want to put a GTX 570 in a system with only a 300W power supply.
     
  3. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    ^ Hit it right in the bud.

    A 550W should be a minimum for a HD6970 (If you're an ATi guy) or a GTX570 (If you're an nVIDIA guy)

    You'll need a bigger one if you plan to use CrossFire or SLi.

    But yeah apart from that, just change the graphics card.
     
  4. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Technically, yes as the other posted, however I would question your definition of good processor.

    The thing is that igp with shader 4.0 started being common in 2007 (because of vista), unless you took a gpu from an older computer when building yours ( explaining how you can get shader 3.0 + good cpu) , I'm afraid your cpu may be barely capable enough to play some games from this year.

    If you look at the thread "bf3 input lag" (http://gbatemp.net/topic/312732-battlefield-3-input-lag/), the guy has a cpu that seems to be about that old and he can't get decent performances in bf3
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When it comes to games, the CPU isn't as important as the graphics cars. That's not to say it's not important, just that it's less important. If the OP "thinks" he has a good CPU, I won't question it when he hasn't even said what games he wants to play. I just give the minimum information he needs.

    But if gaming, don't use CrossFire/SLI. Just, no.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Can we get some actual specs and the games you want to play?
     
  7. rockstar99
    OP

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    Some games:
    MW3
    RE5
    FIFA 12
    TF2
     
  8. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Also if your system is pre-built, then you should provide the make/model number so people can look into it. Many a time these systems have lower PSU's and space (size of the graphics card) can sometimes be an issue.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, as stated you'll most likely need a PSU as well, and the better graphics cards are most often physically larger (assuming we're talking about power ranges within a modern series), so we'll need to know what computer model.
     

Share This Page