[NOOB] I would like to buy my first Telescope. Any Fans out there?

Pecrow

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi,

I would like to start looking into space. I am new to this and trying to look for a telescope for someone that does not know anything about them is like trying to read Chinese upside down and reflected off a mirror in the dark.

I would like to get a telescope that will allow me to see galaxies, nebulas & star cluster (and Planets maybe)

Most people will recommend getting a simple started telescope, but I would rather save up some time and get something worth getting. Maybe from the 0-1000USD?

I am new to all of this, any and all recommendations are welcome.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Where do you live/plan to use this? Light pollution can be a pain if you are in a big city and might see me tailor something for you (this would be related to the Limiting Stellar Magnitude thing you might have seen in specs lists).

"and maybe planets"
At times you can see some of them with the naked eye; they look like bright stars.

Anyway step one is get a copy of http://www.stellarium.org/ , set it up for where you are and go out with a set of half nice binoculars* and a compass**. If you want to do full on sighting compass or sextant then by all means but a basic compass will do and if you have to figure out where you are by other patterns then even better.
You might as well also have https://in-the-sky.org/satmap.php as satellites are also fun to look for.
Note where things are, try to predict where they will be at some point in the future and confirm that, look up what you see and what is known about it. All good fun and can be started without paying much of anything.

*I usually find you can pick them up at flea markets and yard sales for next to nothing.

**if your phone or GPS has such a thing then it will do for now.