1. talixme

    talixme Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    If you are not using noexs, how are you finding the pointers?
     
    Last edited by talixme, Oct 17, 2018
  2. abadidea

    abadidea Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    I meant I can't get the depths to work in noexs (I've been using it)

    Used your very detailed and great tutorial to find some pointers :)
     
    talixme likes this.
  3. JonJaded

    JonJaded GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    Hey uh, im trying to modify values of Shadow Fight 2 (Gems mainly) but literally any modification after finding (the presumed) value, crashes the game.

    I get a "The software was closed because an error occurred." Then if I try to reboot the game, the screen blackens, then the switch freezes.

    Is this a title with anti-cheat?
     
  4. fadx

    fadx Filthy Cheater
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the pointer search rework you're doing, can we expect a large performance increase?
     
  5. matt123337

    OP matt123337 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Canada
    Hopefully! The way I do it now is a dumb search, I'm working on making it smarter

    Odd, I haven't heard that happening before. Does the client still work? Like are you able to refresh the PID list or anything? If so you may still be attached to the game (even when it's crashed) and you need to manually detach after.
     
    mflvs, talixme and fadx like this.
  6. mflvs

    mflvs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    GLad to hear pointer searching will get a rework :) I was stuck on a depth 3 search for 12 hours until i cancelled.
     
  7. fadx

    fadx Filthy Cheater
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah it took me an hour to do a scan with a max offset of 00000300 and max depth 3 on 12 threads.
     
  8. dsrules

    dsrules GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    are you able to find that dead cells pointer that you posted?
     
  9. matt123337

    OP matt123337 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Canada
    Still working on the rework stuff right now... But there's this:
    [​IMG]

    Doesn't actually show the results yet (thus the blank output) but it does all the heavy computation in around 3 seconds vs 1 hour.
     
  10. fadx

    fadx Filthy Cheater
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And that's only on 1 thread! Running my CPU OC'd to 4.5GHz maxing all threads is great for the power bill haha. Can't wait!
     
  11. talixme

    talixme Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    :bow:
     
  12. mflvs

    mflvs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    @matt12337 Awesome my 12 threads are going to be happy with that :) thank you for such a great addition to the community 3.19 ghz (i7-8700)
     
  13. matt123337

    OP matt123337 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Canada
    Well to be fair my old code was bad, then I made it bad multi-threaded code... Current code actually ignores the thread value completely (it's only single threaded)
     
    fadx likes this.
  14. abadidea

    abadidea Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
  15. abadidea

    abadidea Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    anyway we can get.. ascii search? (some games store items as text instead of id.. i can manually convert ascii to hex but if possible in the future?)
     
  16. JonJaded

    JonJaded GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    Being attached while launching is indeed what causes the freezes. Thanks.


    Would you happen to have any tips on how to attack a problem like this, or should I resort to save editing save editing somehow? Thanks.
     
  17. matt123337

    OP matt123337 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually you kindof can, the pattern search on the memory viewer. It's meant for byte pattern matching, but you can also search for ASCII text using the * op (* meaning toggle ascii mode on/off).

    The following will look for "EXAMPLE" followed by the bytes 00, anything less then 11, any byte, anything greater then 33 and not 44
    Code:
    *EXAMPLE* 00 <11 ?? >33 !44
    
    I need to document this a little bit better on github, when I get time I'll start to write the wiki.

    I'm not too sure, it could be some leftover debug stuff from the developers. If you're capable of editing your save I'd say do that for now.

    I was also thinking about having an alternative version of Noexes that uses Atmosphere's process debugging API instead of (or alongside) the native debug syscalls. Perhaps that would help (I don't actually know if it requires the IsDebugMode flag to be set, whereas the syscalls do), I'll message you when/if I have a test build ready for it.
     
    JonJaded likes this.
  18. JonJaded

    JonJaded GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to rush on that special debug mode.

    I extracted the save, dropped it on my pc expecting a file I would need to meticulously hexedit...

    Nope. Not at all.
    Everything is literally in plaintext.

    Snippet:

    PHP:
    <Warriors><Warrior ID="1" FirstName="NAME_SHADOW" Avatar="avatar_hero" Voice="Male" Money="1966996" Bonus="1844884" Strength="3" Stamina="3" Level="2" Experience="60" Power="5" PowerSyncTime="1378445901" Difficulty="50" 
    Sometimes the what seems the most simple might actually be.

    Edit: I know you said that the crashes might be from residual debug code, but the only time the game crashed for me was when I was trying to edit key values such as money and gems.


    sf2 devs rn:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by JonJaded, Oct 20, 2018
    salmon01 likes this.
  19. mflvs

    mflvs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Just wondering can this be used with atomsphere as i cant seem to get it to load at the same time. dont know what config im messing up

    Appreciate all the help even if slight

    Thanks
     
  20. matt123337

    OP matt123337 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Canada
    They may be losing files that end in .kip and not .kip1, try that.

    Or use Hekate.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Debugger, Remote, Noexs