No matter what, cant open drive >.<

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by frostyfrosty, Apr 3, 2009.

Apr 3, 2009
  1. frostyfrosty
    OP

    Member frostyfrosty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Ive tried like 5 or 6 diff tools and i cant get one to locate my drive. I pretty damn sure im doing everything right.

    Think its cause im on vista? or what? all the errors are the same though.

    They all can not locate the drive for some reason>.
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well all the tools are based on the same command line application. So if one doesn't work, the others will fail too.
    Can Windows detect the drive? Does it show up in explorer as a drive letter? (you can't access it trough explorer, but that doesn't matter)
     
  3. Awesome turtwig

    Member Awesome turtwig GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Mine worked fine with Vista... What I did was format my Flash Drive with my Wii before I used the tool.
     
  4. frostyfrosty
    OP

    Member frostyfrosty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    yes windows recognizes the drive w/ the letter i assigned to it, and i too also formated mine with the usb loader app through the wii.

    but for some damn reason i cant get the windows ones to work>.<

    i cant even format using the tools cause it cant find em>.<

    on the tools btw it shows the drive letter i set mine too but it still cant access it.
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try it directly through the wbfs_win_delta command line application.
    if an error shows up, tell which one
     
  6. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    You need to run the programs as an Administrator. (Right click > Run As Administrator)
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bit of a silly question, but have you tried using the Disk Manager (r-click My Computer, click Manage, click Disk Management) to see if it recognizes if the drive is attached? Sometimes you have to make it assign a Drive Letter before you can do anything with it. Also it will recognize any WBFS partition as a "RAW" partition.
    EDIT: Never mind, you answered the question already... I must've missed it. Try using other laptops/computers to see if they work any better.
     
  8. frostyfrosty
    OP

    Member frostyfrosty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    >.> that did it..... thanks
     
  9. MrFlooD

    Newcomer MrFlooD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Morning guys,

    I was having the very same issue since the launcher was released. I finally figured it out last night and will be posting a tutorial soon.

    The quick run down. Under disk management look at your drive and see if there is a small partition at the very front of the drive. (This could have been created by the external case or the formatting program you used)

    Windows will NOT let you delete, or move this partition. However this is the issue that causes all the issues. Use G-Parted, and delete the partition. Make sure the partition that you want WBFS formated, is the first thing on the drive. Format the partition as FAT32 for now.

    Once done, you may have to re-initialize the drive on the computer (Or another computer) for it to be recognized in XP or vista.

    You should now be able to format via the WII or PC, and everything should now work!!!

    This was driving me crazy!! I am so glad I was able to fix it.
     
  10. frostyfrosty
    OP

    Member frostyfrosty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    BTW, is there any way to make something ALWAYS run under admin?

    seeing as i am he>.
     
  11. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Right click the program and click properties. In the compatibility options there should be a check for "run as administrator" and that will always run the program in administration mode from then on.
     

Share This Page