No$GBA w/ BIOS Crashes :(

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Dylaan, Jan 27, 2008.

Jan 27, 2008

No$GBA w/ BIOS Crashes :( by Dylaan at 5:53 AM (2,608 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    So I decided I'd try using the proper BIOS with No$GBA... I dumped my own, put it in the install directory and renamed the firmware.bin file. Told the emulator to use it, it runs, but when I click the game icon it crashes! [​IMG] 'Fatal error - the rom image has crashed' Happens with my bios, my sisters bios and one from elsewhere... Help?
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    The files you need are:
    BIOSNDS7.ROM
    BIOSNDS9.ROM
    FIRMWARE.BIN

    Do you have all of these in the no$gba dir?
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do your roms have encrypted secure areas? It sounds like they don't.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Unencrypted DS roms have been supported in no$gba for a long time.
     
  5. AMPonzi

    Member AMPonzi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    The Lost City of Atlantis
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using a BIOS image, the ROMS must be encrypted... not using the BIOS means you must use unencrypted images... there's no interchanging the two

    BIOS = Encrypted ROMS only
    No BIOS = Unencrypted ROMS only
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using BIOS files and my own firmware for months and haven't had to encrypt my roms for a long time. Maybe I'm just an anomaly or something, but I haven't heard of anyone having to manually encrypt their roms in ages.
     
  7. shinji257

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you have good dumps too. It is definitely possible to create good dumps of any DS game out there complete with the secure encrypted portion.
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But you haven't been booting from with the firmware.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Oooooh, so that's what the original poster meant. Gotcha. My bad.
    *goes to sulk in a corner*
    >_>
     

Share This Page