No 480p on HDTV?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by zzhou, Mar 19, 2010.

Mar 19, 2010

No 480p on HDTV? by zzhou at 4:23 AM (918 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Pal Wii (brought it with me, it is modded - so I am not going to buy a new one).
    I have Panasonic P46G10 that I bought in US (obviously, it is NTSC).

    I became quite adept at navigating menus blindfolded [​IMG] so I can switch it to 480i - and at that that point I get a decent picture using component cable (actually I would never be able to tell it is interlaced (I'm turning it on blindfolded [​IMG] ) if not my tv menu showing the resolution. If I switch to 480p the TV simply goes blank.

    I always thought that 480p does not depend Pal/NTSC...

    Questions:
    1. Is the problem in TV? (I haven't found any setting in the TV menu to select mode for the input).
    2. Will it cure the problem if I hack the Wii to change region? Is there any hardware diffences b/ween Pal and NTSC Wiis? For one I noticed that standby led on my Wii is red and it seems to be yellow on the NTSC wii at my work.
     
  2. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm. For whatever reason 480p now works (I tried switching it on several time - this time I thought I will try switching the inputs once it goes black - but it didn't)...

    I guess the problem is with TV. Panasonic screen is gorgeous. But the software is utter crap. I had a Sony RPTV (like 4 years old) at home - it was awesome, with many setting and sweet options (like clock on the screen) - and Panasonic is completely irritating. But still - I can live with bed software as long as their colors are so wonderful [​IMG]
     
  3. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    That's a new one. NSMB in 480p shows obvious interlace artifacts (teared image) while 480i is much more smooth. I guess the TV is trying to "improve" the picture...
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,351
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    is NSMB PAL?
     
  5. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm. I always thought it was NTSC back-up (the one that appeared first). I guess I need to try the official copy - I bought it here so it is obviously NTSC.
     

Share This Page