Hardware Nintendo Zone Box

AndyCelinskis

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
48
Some photos have emerged from the internet of a Nintendo Zone Box
Photos
image.gif
back.png
image.gif
left side.png
image.gif
right side.png
It is very interesting

Here are some files

Manual http://n-dev.net/attachment.php?aid=13

Test Setup http://n-dev.net/attachment.php?aid=14


Source website http://n-dev.net/showthread.php?tid=95
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 people

The Milkman

GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
3,471
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Throwing milk at the bitches!
XP
1,307
Country
United States
Sorry for being a noob, but what can we do with this?

Well seeing as how Nintendo Zone has the ability to write data into the 3DS, in heavily speculative theory we could wirte data directly into it. Now something like rom loading may be far fetched but it could be possible to edit the firmware or even replace it entirely. Or at the very least access some kind of internal memory. Didn't the hackers do something like this with DSDownload stations?
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Sychophantom

I'm a plant.
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
Born on the Bayou
XP
617
Country
United States
I forget where I read it, but I think this is basically a modified DSi XL. I think it might have been the Nintendo Zone in your home thread. I'll look now for a link.


Edit: Found it - http://gbatemp.net/blog/1093/entry-8960-nintendo-zone-3ds-eur/


I knew I saw it here.
 

Sychophantom

I'm a plant.
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
Born on the Bayou
XP
617
Country
United States
I forget where I read it, but I think this is basically a modified DSi XL. I think it might have been the Nintendo Zone in your home thread. I'll look now for a link.


Edit: Found it - http://gbatemp.net/b...o-zone-3ds-eur/


I knew I saw it here.
If u read the manual its not a dsi it is made by nintendo and connects to a laptop

I did read it. Did you happen to notice the AC adapter being the same one used in a DSi/3DS?

Wouldn't be very hard for Nintendo to modify existing hardware to make this. Probably far cheaper than designing all new hardware, too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Lokao0

aka LkProd
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
São Paulo
XP
396
Country
Brazil
You can just get N-zone with a normal router.. I don't see anything great about this.
Well seeing as how Nintendo Zone has the ability to write data into the 3DS, in heavily speculative theory we could wirte data directly into it. Now something like rom loading may be far fetched but it could be possible to edit the firmware or even replace it entirely. Or at the very least access some kind of internal memory. Didn't the hackers do something like this with DSDownload stations?
 

The Milkman

GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
3,471
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Throwing milk at the bitches!
XP
1,307
Country
United States
You can just get N-zone with a normal router.. I don't see anything great about this.
Well seeing as how Nintendo Zone has the ability to write data into the 3DS, in heavily speculative theory we could wirte data directly into it. Now something like rom loading may be far fetched but it could be possible to edit the firmware or even replace it entirely. Or at the very least access some kind of internal memory. Didn't the hackers do something like this with DSDownload stations?
XD That's pure speculation, you can get N-Zone through a router but I think its more of a link to the server rather then an actual program like this one. I could be wrong though.
 

iHavezMyBirdo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
United States
Website
Visit site
XP
166
Country
United States
I think this is for DSi's Nintendo Zone, not 3DS.
The manual doesn't mention anything about the DSi though.
The DSi Nintendo Zones were abandoned since they could only be put up in a few places in Europe prior to the deal Nintendo made with AT&T
Oh, okay. Whoops... I didn't really know much about it. =3=
 

The Milkman

GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
3,471
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Throwing milk at the bitches!
XP
1,307
Country
United States
I think this is for DSi's Nintendo Zone, not 3DS.
The manual doesn't mention anything about the DSi though.
The DSi Nintendo Zones were abandoned since they could only be put up in a few places in Europe prior to the deal Nintendo made with AT&T
Oh, okay. Whoops... I didn't really know much about it. =3=
Its understandable, I didn't know much about it till you said there were DSi N-Zones, then I googled :P
 

Deleted member 282441

AKA ZeroTheSavior
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Location
Gensokyo
XP
326
Country
United States
These are the N-Zones for the nintendo ds.
in the manual it states:
(14)
Verifying Operation on Nintendo DS Series Game Systems (requires a Nintendo DS or
Nintendo DS Lite)
After verifying that the device screen is normal (See Step 6 in P6. Connecting the AC Adapter
and Setting up Download Services that use the InternetR), follow the procedure below to verify
that downloading from the internet can be performed normally using a Nintendo DS Series
Game System.
Note: Steps 1 T 5 are required when using Download Services with the Nintendo DS or
Nintendo DS Lite.
Note: The content of the information service or design of the screen may vary by location.
1. Turn on power to the Nintendo DS Series Game System.
2. The DS Menu is displayed on the lower screen. Select PDS Download Play.R
3. Select PNintendo Zone ViewerR on the lower screen.
4. Data is downloaded from the wireless distribution box.
5. After about one minute, the Service Menu screen is displayed.
It says ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT THE 3DS.
Nintendo's announcement of these from 2008: http://www.nintendo.com/whatsnew/detail/waUaocRmskcPG27usK_1E6n3eIx4jE_9
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    How to upgrade fast
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    I can't understand English at all, I can only rely on translation
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    Upgrading quickly can depend on what you're trying to upgrade. Can you provide more information about what you're looking to upgrade, and what you're hoping to achieve by upgrading quickly?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a good idea to wait it out and let things happen naturally tinkering with update files can cause worse than good
    +1
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    i farted
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Stop eating so much garlics
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Did someone say upgrading? Are we trying to upgrade the system or the toaster?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    My toaster is IP68 so I work on it in my bathtub
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    What kind of thermal paste are you using for on bathtub's vCPU hypervisor
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Corsair
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a good, real thermal paste. I bet it's given you great results.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'm a huge fanboy and brand loyal so we can argue about the kind you use
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Jif. I get horrible results, I'm going through probably 12 jars of it a week and at least 8 PCs.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's no argument.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Try jelly it makes it moist
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Why is corsair the best paste tho fr?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because some random guy on the internet said it was
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    thermalgrizzly kryonaut is the best paste
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    isn't that gallium based?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if so, yuck
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: if so, yuck