Hardware Nintendo Switch not charging

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

Bought switch that don't charge.
Firstly the port was damaged, so I replaced it.
After I replaced the port, there were shorts around M92T36.
After replacing M92T36, the shorts were gone, but I'm not getting "No continuity" on those small resistors as on attached image.

The switch was turning on and displaying low battery.
M92T36 looks like I solder it properly, every connection got solder and no bridges.

Also, when I was trying to connect the screen few times I bend the pins, so will have to solder new ribbon connector :D
Also waiting for new battery and charging IC.

Battery voltage is 3.3V, maybe the battery is over discharged ?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201014_215923.jpg
    IMG_20201014_215923.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 409

Ttm3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
657
Country
United States
Hello,

Bought switch that don't charge.
Firstly the port was damaged, so I replaced it.
After I replaced the port, there were shorts around M92T36.
After replacing M92T36, the shorts were gone, but I'm not getting "No continuity" on those small resistors as on attached image.

The switch was turning on and displaying low battery.
M92T36 looks like I solder it properly, every connection got solder and no bridges.

Also, when I was trying to connect the screen few times I bend the pins, so will have to solder new ribbon connector :D
Also waiting for new battery and charging IC.

Battery voltage is 3.3V, maybe the battery is over discharged ?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

3.3 volts is definitely low but it should still take a charge.

How do you know it isn't charging?
 

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
3.3 volts is definitely low but it should still take a charge.

How do you know it isn't charging?

I got the USB VOLTAGE - AMP meter.

Just checked the M92T36 and one side didn't have enough solder, so I added a bit more and it looks better. But still not charging, checked the voltage with battery connected and the fuses around the charging IC were getting between 2v and 4.9v.

It could be the bad charging ic maybe, hopefully new IC and battery will help.
 

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
I was able to replace the LCD connector successfully with hotair and $8 amazon USB microscope :D
Switch is turning on now, but still showing LOW battery and goes off.
With USB connected im getting 4.9V as on the image and with battery connected im getting only 3.2V around charging battery IC.

It could be BAD battery, BAD charging IC or M92T36.
but M92T36 looks good to me :D

Any idea where I should check for voltage ?
Just checked the voltage on battery connector with USB connected and im getting 0.350v
So M92T36 got some kind of connection with battery charging IC.
Will wait for new battery and test it, otherwise I will brake something else :D
 

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
I have put the new battery, console is now turning on all the way. Im getting charging logo, but its not charging.
Its only 5v and on amps.
Last chance is with charging IC.

- Charging IC changed still not charging

Would USB cause it not to charge ?
Even if its getting the voltage ?

It was showing Charing icon one side but on the other. But it didnt charge.
Will have to get original charged ?
 
Last edited by Siedlik,

Ttm3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
657
Country
United States
I have put the new battery, console is now turning on all the way. Im getting charging logo, but its not charging.
Its only 5v and on amps.
Last chance is with charging IC.

- Charging IC changed still not charging

Would USB cause it not to charge ?
Even if its getting the voltage ?

It was showing Charing icon one side but on the other. But it didnt charge.
Will have to get original charged ?
So I just went through this with a few consoles. I replaced the bq24193 didn't seem to fix it but then I dropped some fresh solder on the pads and refit it. Now I'm charging.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Siedlik

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
Will try that, also would the switch charge from a 5v source ? Would that be enough to keep it alive ?
Also, with M92T36 should few pins be shorted ? I got like 3 pins shorted, 2 of them are going to the small resistors and the 3rd short is on the dot side first from the right.
I think that could be the problem.
 

Ttm3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
657
Country
United States
Will try that, also would the switch charge from a 5v source ? Would that be enough to keep it alive ?
Also, with M92T36 should few pins be shorted ? I got like 3 pins shorted, 2 of them are going to the small resistors and the 3rd short is on the dot side first from the right.
I think that could be the problem.

This isn't perfect but it should be close enough to show which pins are ground
 

Attachments

  • BM92T30MWV.PDF
    1.2 MB · Views: 263
  • Like
Reactions: Siedlik

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for that, looks like the grounds are correct.
USB-C is getting power, sends it to M92T36 and then it goes to BM92T30
M92T36 recognize the cable, but does not take any amps from charger
Will try original charger and add some extra solder to BM92T30
 

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
Its fixed.
When replacing the M92T36 I moved one of the tiny caps on bottom right, and when I tried to move it back I broke it.
It ought it was good idea to just bridge it :D
Removed the bridge and its working.
But the FAN didnt work, so removed like diode next to the connector and its working.
Also the Memory was getting hot and battery was going fast, I think removing that diode helped or there was some debris from the LCD connector when I was removing it.
 

Ttm3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
657
Country
United States
Its fixed.
When replacing the M92T36 I moved one of the tiny caps on bottom right, and when I tried to move it back I broke it.
It ought it was good idea to just bridge it :D
Removed the bridge and its working.
Also the Memory was getting hot and battery was going fast, I think removing that diode helped or there was some debris from the LCD connector when I was removing it.
Always good to see a happy ending:)
 

xfreaks

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
Indonesia
Its fixed.
When replacing the M92T36 I moved one of the tiny caps on bottom right, and when I tried to move it back I broke it.
It ought it was good idea to just bridge it :D
Removed the bridge and its working.
But the FAN didnt work, so removed like diode next to the connector and its working.
Also the Memory was getting hot and battery was going fast, I think removing that diode helped or there was some debris from the LCD connector when I was removing it.
hey siedlik, i was trying to fix switch with the same symptom like you too, could you post a picture about the tiny capacitor and the diode?
 

Siedlik

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
59
Country
United Kingdom
hey siedlik, i was trying to fix switch with the same symptom like you too, could you post a picture about the tiny capacitor and the diode?

I don't have a camera with good zoom, but its next to M92T36 in right bottom corner.
 

Alexblau

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
49
Country
Germany
Hallo.
Habe die selbe Probleme.
Wird nicht aufgeladen 0 Ampere.
M92T36 2 × erneuert bq auch usb neu.
M92T36 Stift 5 4.8v pin 6 0v
BQ pin 24 0v
Mit geladenen Batterie kann normal starten

Danke in voraus
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: How dare you act the same way we've been acting here for years