Hacking Question Nintendo Switch bootloop help

Ediz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Moon
XP
124
Country
Hey, so 2 weeks ago my Switch started to act weird, when i entered to sleep mode screen goes black but on and i have to reset it but 2 days later same thing happened and when i try to open it switch logo comes on and freezes (i dont have nand backup unfortunetly). it charges perfectly with charger but dock just blinks green (and i didnt have any problem with dock before all of this) does anyone know the problem or how the fix it?
 

Ediz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Moon
XP
124
Country
i didn't dropped it, i was playing zelda and put it to sleep mode but screen turned blank i turned it off and booted again after this happens 2 times it stuck on switch logo

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Downgrade your switch by any chance?
i can't it :( and i didnt updated it for a long time but is there any change of downgrading without booting the system up?
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,953
Country
Albania
i didn't dropped it, i was playing zelda and put it to sleep mode but screen turned blank i turned it off and booted again after this happens 2 times it stuck on switch logo

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


i can't it :( and i didnt updated it for a long time but is there any change of downgrading without booting the system up?
Do you happen to remember on what firmware version it has been exactly. If on 6.2 and below you could try to rebuild your NAND with ChoiPC. I'd that won't work then you're out of luck.
 

Ediz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Moon
XP
124
Country
i was probably at 7.0 or 7.0.1, is there another things i could do?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

and i tried to enter recovery menu but it didnt worked
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,953
Country
Albania
i was probably at 7.0 or 7.0.1, is there another things i could do?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

and i tried to enter recovery menu but it didnt worked
Are you using a proper made jig or a paperclip? if using a paperclip make sure it's properly bent and shaped.
Entering RCM should work as that's not handled by the eMMC or Horizon in any way.
 

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,953
Country
Albania
Sadly without a NAND backup I can't help you either.
There was this way of restoring a public BOOT 0/1 backup getting all the switch keys and then continuing to rebuild the NAND but I don't know whether that works or not with your current firmware, Moreover it might seem that your switch might suffer from a hardware failure, namely a faulty eMMC chip.
Try setting up Android/Linux on a spare SD card to check ad see whether you can boot them at all in order to confirm that there no other hardware failures.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Ediz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Moon
XP
124
Country
Hey so i tried the android and it worked so thats nice but i didn't find anything like "rebuild the nand" do you have a guide?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

oh and there is no "Nintendo" logo just Switch logo so maybe thats telling something?
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,953
Country
Albania
Hey so i tried the android and it worked so thats nice but i didn't find anything like "rebuild the nand" do you have a guide?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

oh and there is no "Nintendo" logo just Switch logo so maybe thats telling something?
The Nintendo logo doesn't appear because you're boot method is via Hekate, hence "overriding" the stock bootloader.
Can't seem to find a guide to it but disable autoRCM for now and try doing the following
    • Power off the console
    • Press POWER button + volume up + volume down at the same time
    • Release all buttons when the Switch logo appears.
    • Welcome to the Recovery Mode, you can also update.
Once you boot into recovery mode try updating through stock settings
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
10,207
Trophies
2
XP
12,680
Country
Sweden
likely it's a faulty eMMC module
Not necessarily. The connectors on the Switch where it's just plastic tabs holding together is piss poor. So it's totally possible he might thrown the Switch or put it down hard by acceident and it started slowly jump loose. It's really simple to open up a Switch and just press it down on the Connector again. Ifixit got a great teardown guide.

EDIT: Look at step 10, Second picture. One of those plastic tabs... uuugh....
https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Nintendo+Switch+Teardown/78263
 
Last edited by linuxares,
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,953
Country
Albania
Not necessarily. The connectors on the Switch where it's just plastic tabs holding together is piss poor. So it's totally possible he might thrown the Switch or put it down hard by acceident and it started slowly jump loose. It's really simple to open up a Switch and just press it down on the Connector again. Ifixit got a great teardown guide.

EDIT: Look at step 10, Second picture. One of those plastic tabs... uuugh....
https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Nintendo+Switch+Teardown/78263
That could be too. But he stated above that he did not do any of that (dropping bumping etc)
Nonetheless @Ediz take a look at your switch's internals.
Like linuxares suggested look up for a teardown guide if you don't know how to do it yourself.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
10,207
Trophies
2
XP
12,680
Country
Sweden
I don't claim he done it on purpose. Normal usage can cause bumping etc of it. Shaking to use the gyro etc. If the eMMC is faulty but hopefully he can get the data from it via Hekate. He can buy a new one and restore his Hekate backup. Else the risk is superhigh he get a ipatched unit back, if he sends it to Nintendo.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

Ediz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Moon
XP
124
Country
hey thanks guys, i turned off the autorcm and tried but the same thing happened and i guess its about the emmc module. I will take a look at that ifixit guide but what if i send nintendo switch without autorcm and ofw will they still understand and patch it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://i.imgur.com/IXlPrt6.jpeg +1