New WAD Manager mod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiPower, Apr 17, 2009.

Apr 17, 2009

New WAD Manager mod by WiiPower at 10:42 PM (6,768 Views / 0 Likes) 38 replies

  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    http://rapidshare.com/files/222590282/WADM...select.zip.html
    (no won't reupload, don't ask)

    Now the 1st thing you have to do when you start the application is to select which IOS to use. To me this is superior to having seperate WAD Managers for an IOS248 for usb storage, if you have a usb loader cIOS installed. Or for example IOS16 or IOS35 for downgrading.

    PS: This should work fine with sd cards and the usb loader cIOS even if usb storage is connected, you just can't use usb storage with these cIOS for now
     


  2. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
  4. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Nice! Which IOS makes USB storage work?
     
  5. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks thats a great tool. This should deffinately prove useful.
     
  6. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    Wiipower Brilliant work brother [​IMG] you are something buddy [​IMG] keep it up
     
  7. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Calm down guys. It wasn't that complicated, it did some copy&paste with some other code to get it quickly.

    Hmm?
    In general all IOS with with the usb storage, it's just that Waninkoko changed something about the usb module inside the cIOS since rev9. Maybe there's a way to use usb storage with these cIOS too, but Waninkoko announced already to release a fixed cIOS.
     
  8. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Thanks dude, someone should sticky this Wad Manager with a sign: "Noobs USE THIS ONE" [​IMG]
     
  9. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    i agree its sticky worthy for a "brick tool" maybe we wont need the wadmanager ios16 anymore we can just use this!
     
  10. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Tried it with different IOS to get USB to work, but it didn't for any IOS. So I guess you are right, we have to wait for a fix by Waninkoko himself.
     
  11. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you sure your usb storage works at all? Does it have a FAT partition? Are you able to use it with a media player or something else?
     
  12. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, it has a FAT32 partition (the first) which works fine with MPlayerCE and Geexbox. Where on the USB HDD do I have to put the wads in? I assume it's root/wad, right?
     
  13. Hedkandi

    Newcomer Hedkandi Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Sweden
    The only thing i would want now is amount of blocks the currently selected wad takes up and how many blocks are available in the systems memory.

    Nice work m8!
     
  14. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Well i can get the file size in MB and in blocks(1 block == 128 KB), but the size of an installed channel doesn't match the wad file size. You can check this yourself with your wads and channels. And i have no idea how to get the free blocks count from the nand or how much space is free. And on top of that i doubt that the free space in blocks matches the number of free blocks.
     
  15. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I just tried a 512MB USB-Stick formated in FAT, then FAT32, and this is what I always get:

    Code:
    Initializing libfat, please wait... ok!
    Retrieving device contents, please wait... ERROR! (ret = -1)
    Any idea?
     
  16. mat03111984

    Member mat03111984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so can i install wads straight to an sd card then? does the sd card menu have a certain ios that i can choose?
     
  17. TrickyTony

    Member TrickyTony GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii has been off visiting Nintendo for a while now, can someone explain to a dumbass like me why this is needed. Obviously it is, but for what?
     
  18. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Guess what, suddenly USB Storage works with IOS36. I didn't change anything. Strange...

    Anyway, thanks WiiPower [​IMG]
     
  19. maduin

    Member maduin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    amazing! it worked! I've been trying everything to get it to find my FAT32 partition, and this did the trick. Thanks!
     
  20. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, when I used this it didn't let me select what IOS to run off of. It was stuck on IOS36.
     

Share This Page